



PROGRAMME

Division of Medicine Research Retreat Thursday 9th May 2024 Marriott London West India Quay, 22 Hertsmere Road, London E14 4ED

MORNING SESSION

REGISTRATION AND INTRODUCTION			
08.30 - 09.15	Registration and Coffee		
09.15 - 09.30	Professor Sam Janes Director Division of Medicine Professor Krista Rombouts Co-Chair Research Retreat Welcome		
SESSION 1	Chair: Professor Mark Lythgoe (Imaging) Co-chair: Professor Nicoletta Kessaris (WIBR)		
09.30 – 10.15	Co-chair: Professor Nice Andy Mitchell Key speaker	'Ten Trips' a discussion between Andy Mitchell and Professor Mark Lythgoe Biography	
10.15 - 10.25	Dr Kaylee Worlock Respiratory Medicine (Research Fellow)	'Human SARS-CoV-2 challenge uncovers differences in local and systemic cellular responses associated with protection from infection and distinct infection states' <u>Abstract</u>	
10.25 - 10.35	Dr Ian Harrison Imaging (Senior Research Fellow)	['] Pharmacological Enhancement of Glymphatic Function Attenuates Propagation of Tau Pathology in an Animal Model' <u>Abstract</u>	
10.35 – 10.45	Dr Harry Hodgetts Institute for Liver and Digestive Health (Research Technician)	'Mesenteric fibrosis in small intestinal neuroendocrine tumours (SI-NETs): pathogenesis and therapeutic targets' <u>Abstract</u>	
10.45 - 11.30	Coffee break and moderated poster session I		
SESSION 2	Chair: Professor Marc Lipman (Respiratory) Co-Chair: Dr Marilina Antonelou (Renal)		
11.30 – 11.50	Dr Joseph Jacob Respiratory Medicine	'Quantifying lung damage using computer tools' <u>Abstract</u>	
11.50 - 12.00	Dr Qingyang Kong Renal (Research Fellow)	'A host immune-centered approach to uncovering causation in chronic UTI' <u>Abstract</u>	
12.00 - 12.10	Dr Sam Palethorpe Respiratory (Research Fellow)	<i>'Identification of multiple protein antigen targets for an antibody therapy for antibiotic-resistant Acinetobacter baumannii infections' <u>Abstract</u></i>	
12.10 - 12.20	Dr Natasha Liou Renal (PhD student)	'DeepUTI: a novel deep learning method performs as well as experienced microscopists at detecting markers of urine infection' <u>Abstract</u>	
12.20 - 14.30	Lunch and moderated poster session II		





AFTERNOON SESSION

SESSION 3	Chair: Professor Coziana	Ciurtin (Inflammation)
	Co-chair: Dr Janine Makaronidis (ETM)	
14.30 - 14.50	Dr Gautam Mehta Institute for Liver and Digestive Health	<i>'Levelling Up in Liver Disease: Personalised Medicine, Digital Health and Re-Designing Clinical Trials' <u>Abstract</u></i>
14.50 - 15.00	Dr Giuseppe Ercoli Respiratory (Research Fellow)	'Evolution of anti-protein antibody response after Streptococcus pneumoniae nasopharyngeal colonisation of mice' <u>Abstract</u>
15.00 – 15.10	Dr Thomas McDonnell Inflammation (Senior Research Fellow)	'Plasmin-Clipped Beta-2-Glycoprotein I: Novel Structures Lead to Increased Antibody Binding' <u>Abstract</u>
15.10 – 15.20	Ms Emmeline Brown Imaging (PhD Student)	'SimuLayer: Synthetic retinal layer and choroid generation using Physics-informed deep generative learning' <u>Abstract</u>
15:20 - 15.40	Tea break	
SESSION 4	Chair: Professor James C	Cox (WIBR)
	Co-Chair: Dr Tammy Kalber (Imaging)	
15.40 - 16.00	Professor Marianna Fontana Amyloidosis, Department of Inflammation	'Reversal is within reach' <u>Abstract</u>
16.00 - 16.10	Ms Kate Morling WIBR (PhD Student)	'Design, synthesis and characterisation of cofactor- mimicking HIV-1 capsid inhibitors' <u>Abstract</u>
16.10 - 16.20	Mr Khalid Alotaibi Experimental and Translational Medicine (PhD Student)	'A Novel Homogenous Recombinant Haemoglobin to Treat Global Ischaemia Reperfusion Injury' <u>Abstract</u>
16.20 - 16.35	PhD Student Reps	
	Education	Project videos (10 mins)
16:35 – 16.45	EDI Dr Manuela Platé & Dr Vitor de Sousa Teixeira	DoM Athena SWAN (10mins)
16:45 – 16:55	Award Ceremony with H	lead of Division, Professor Sam Janes, and Co-
	Chair for the Research, Professor Derek Gilroy	
	Best moderated poster: Student & Postdoc/ECR	
	Best selected oral presentation: Student & Postdoc/ECR	
	Division of Medicine ECR Award (Junior)	
	Division of Medicine Established Investigator Award (Senior)	
	Division of Medicine Education Excellence Award	
16:55 – 17:00	Professor Sam Janes Closing remarks	
17:00 - 18:00	Drinks reception	