UCL Division of Medicine


Dean's Research Prize 2019

27 February 2019

Students in the Division of Medicine took several prizes at the Faculty of Medical Sciences’ 7th annual Dean's Research Prize held on 14th February 2019

winners deans prize 2019

Rikah Louie (Inflammation) was runner-up at the 3 Minute Thesis presentation; Yuyan Duan (MRes Human Tissue Repair) won the Postgraduate Taught prize; Vittoria Stefanello (BSc Appliled Medical Sciences) was winner of the Undergraduate prize. Congratulations to all.

The Faculty of Medical Sciences held its 7th annual Dean’s Research Prize Event to celebrate students’ success in research, on Thursday 14th February. The Faculty has over 3500 students including 1200 Masters and 400 PhD students and a flavour of their research achievements were highlighted at the event in the form of research talks and posters. Divisions were represented by PhD students who spoke about their work, and posters were on display representing 39 Masters and iBSc programmes showcasing the contribution these courses make to the Faculty’s research portfolio. 

The event also hosted the Faculty heat of the internationally-successful 3 Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition.   The winner and runner-up from the Faculty heat will be entered into the UCL-wide semi-final which will take place in May/June giving them the opportunity to progress to the UK National Vitae competition in September 2019.

The posters and presentations were judged by: Prof Vivek Mudera (Vice-Dean Education); Prof Jill Norman (Faculty Graduate Tutor – Research); Prof Tim McHugh (Faculty Graduate Tutor – Taught); Dr Nathan Davies (Head of Education, Medicine); Dr Rachel Leeson (Departmental Graduate Tutor, Eastman Dental Institute); Dr Adam Paige (Departmental Graduate Tutor, Cancer Institute); Dr Kate Ricketts (Departmental Graduate Tutor, Division of Surgery & Interventional Science) and the Faculty Representatives: Ms Judith Pape, Miss Roxanna Zakeri, Miss Geraldine Lekszton and Miss Shreya Ranarjan.

The standard was extremely high and all participants should be congratulated for both their presentation skills and calibre of the research undertaken. 

winners deans prize 2019