UCL Division of Medicine


SAT Team

Members of the Division of Medicine (DoM) Self-Assessment Team (SAT)


The SAT was formed in 2012. We periodically review and refresh membership to ensure the SAT represent the broad range of staff and students within the DoM. Chairs rotate after each application cycle, but previous chairs stay on for at least one year to provide continuity. The SAT meet monthly within core hours, the day and time of the meetings varies to ensure all members can attend routinely. The meeting agenda is prepared and sent out by the chair in advance. Minutes are circulated and kept on the shared drive. In between the monthly meetings, SAT members often meet in smaller working groups focused on their particular activities, including surveys, mentoring, website updates and discussing the action plan. 

The role of the SAT is to collect and reflect on a range of quantitative and qualitative data, to identify both challenges and opportunities concerning, but not limited to, gender equality. For example, we are proud to identify and address issues related to lack of support for career progression of BAME ARS. By introducing B-Mentorship we helped two ARS to gain research fellowships to become independent researchers. 

DoM governing committee are members on our SAT, thus directly influence policies, practices and activities, wherever improvements regarding gender equality are required. SAT actions/updates are included as regular agenda items during DoM Town Hall meetings, Heads of Departments/Professors/PI meetings and at our annual Research Retreats. The Town Hall meetings, hosted by the governing committee, occur every term and matters ranging from career development, bullying and harassment to EDI are discussed openly by all staff and students. These help raise awareness of our AS activities, the SWAN principles more generally and served as a conduit for two-way dialogue which further influenced our Action Plans. Through its social media platforms, our ECR Network provides resources to support the career development and wellbeing of young female researchers. Our AS website is regularly updated with new and inspirational information.

The DoM SAT currently has 19 members:

Dr. Dorota Rowczenio: (Chair) Principal Scientist 
Dr. Markella Ponticos:  Senior Lecturer, non-clinical academic 
Aisha Carroll: Divisional Manager, senior administrator 
Dr Nyala Balogun: Research nurse 
Dr. Anna Barnes: Senior Clinical Lecturer 
Prof. Rachel Batterham: Medical Director, clinical academic 
Dr. Edith Chan: Associate Professor  
Dr. Marie-Belle El Mdawar: Research Associate 
Claudio Del Fatti: PhD Student Renal Medicine 
Prof. Derek Gilroy: Scientific Director, non-clinincal academic 
Dr. Sandra Gomez Lopez: Research Associate 
Alison Kelly:  Administrator 
Prof. Robert Kleta: Divisional Director, clinical academic 
Dr. Nephtali Marina-Gonzalez: Associate Professor Teaching 
Dr Puja Mehta: Research Training Fellow 
Dr. Manuela Plate: Senior Research Associate 
Kinga Podolak: Senior HR Officer 
Dr Angela Tam: Senior Research Fellow  
Dr. Vitor de Sousa Texeira: Lecturer 
Hadija Trojer: Research Technician 
Zoe Whiteman: PhD student