UCL Medical School


Top Teachers and Administrators 2012-13

Year 1 Winners

Prof. Michael Gilbey (UCL, Neuroscience & Pharmacology)

Dr James Goldring (Royal Free, Respiratory Medicine)

Foundations of Health and Medical Practice

Prof. Sir Michael Marmot (UCL, Dept of Epidemiology & Public Health)

Dr Finn Werner (UCL, Structural & Molecular Biology)

Fluid, Nutrition and Metabolism

Dr Greg Campbell (UCL, Cell & Developmental Biology)

Dr Ted Debnam (UCL, Physiology)

Infection and Defence

Prof. Peter Delves (UCL, Dept of Immunology)

Dr Kate Ward (UCL, Dept of Infection)


Dr Scott Rice (UCL, Centre for Medical Imaging)

Year 2 Winners

Cancer Biology

Prof. Charles Swanton (UCL, London Research Institute)

Endocrine Systems and Regulation

Dr Pam Houston (UCL, Biomedical Sciences)

Movement and Musculoskeletal Biology

Dr Alan Bates (UCL, Cellular Pathology)

Dr Peter Gogalniceanu (Colchester Hospital, Vascular Surgery)

Prof. Fred Spoor (UCL, Cell & Developmental Biology)

Dr Sandra Martelli (UCL, Division of Biosciences)

Prof. Patrick Anderson (UCL, Cell & Developmental Biology)

Neuroscience and Behaviour

Prof. Christopher Yeo (UCL, Anatomy & Developmental Biology)

Reproduction, Development and Genetics

Dr Greg Fitzharris (UCL, Institute of Women’s Health)

Dr Claudio Stern (UCL, Cell & Developmental Biology)


Dr Wendy Birch (UCL, Anatomy & Developmental Biology)

Year 3 (iBSc) Winners

Dr Alasdair Gibb (UCL, Neuroscience, Physiology & Pharmacology)

Mr Mike Rowson (UCL, Institute of Child Health)

Year 4 Winners

Dr Thofique Adamjee (UCLH)

Dr Julie Andrews (Whittington)

Dr Timothy Blackburn (Whittington)

Dr Bernard Davis (Whittington)

Dr Christian Hasford (UCLH)

Dr Ben Lovell (Royal Free)

Dr Daniel Marks (UCLH)

Ms Catherine Phillips (UCLH)

Prof. Anisur Rahman (UCLH)

Dr Christos Toumpanakis (Royal Free)

Dr Freddie Vonberg (UCL, PALS)

Year 5 Winners

Child and Family Health

Dr Mas Ahmed (Queen’s)

Dr Benita Morrisey (North Middlesex)

Dr Alastair Sutcliffe (Institute of Child Health)

Clinical Neurosciences

Dr Rachel Gibbons (St Pancras)

Dr Gordon Ingle (National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery)

Dr Matt Parton (National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery)

Dr Robert Simister (National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery)

Dr Robert Tobiansky (Barnet)

Dr Chris Turner (National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery)

Women’s Health and Communicable Disease

Miss Shahnaz Akhbar (Luton & Dunstable)

Dr Jonathan Cartledge (Mortimer Market Centre)

Prof. Alan Maclean (Royal Free)

Mr Michael Morcos (Chase Farm)

Year 6 Winners

Dr Ritwik Banerjee (Luton & Dunstable)

Mr Vijay Gadhvi (Basildon)

Dr Justin Garner (Watford)

Dr Parthipan Pillai (Luton & Dunstable)

Dr Rachel Quail (Lister)

Dr Anish Radia (Luton & Dunstable)

Dr Sujay Shah (Barnet)


Dr Charles Butcher (Harefield)

Dr Jonathan Costello (Royal Free)

Dr Barry Fuller (UCL)

Mr Manolis Gavalas (UCLH)

Dr Julian Gillmore (Royal Free)

Dr Adam Gwozdz (UCLH)

Dr Rob Stephens (UCLH)

Dr Wit Woothipoom (North Middlesex)

Vertical Module Winners

Dr Derick Adigbli (UCL)

Ms Amanda Band (UCL)

Dr Alex Kelly (UCL)

Mr Michael Klingenberg (UCL)

Ms Nicky Mathastein (UCL)

Ms Tina Nyazika (UCL)

Mr Richard Say (UCL)

Prof Graham Scambler (Mortimer Market Centre)

Dr Heather Suckling (UCL)

Top Administrators Awards

National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Ms Louise Hurford (Undergraduate Secretary)

UCL Medical School

Ms Karen Picken (Year 4 Administrator)

Ms Fahmina Begum (Years 1 & 2 Administrator)

Ms Anushka Magan (iBSc Physiology and Pharmacology Administrator)

Mr Neil McWhirter (Year 5 MBBS Manager)

Mr Matthew Brown (Teaching Administrator, Paediatrics)

Ms Ruth Fox (Teaching Administrator, Division of Surgery and Interventional Science)

Ms Carolyn Cohen (Teaching Administrator, Division of Medicine)

Ms Caroline Smith (Teaching Administrator, Institute of Child Health)

Ms Anne Thurston (Electives Assistant)