UCL Medical School


EMEA Winners 2023-24

Individual Winners

Debayan Dasgupta

Specialist Registrar in Neurosurgery, UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology

Winner of the David Jordan Award for excellence in enhancing science in Medical Education.

Sadie Lawes-Wickwar 

Lecturer and Co-Deputy Director Medical Education, Primary Care & Population Health

Winner of the Saad al-Damluji Award for commitment to excellence in clinical teaching.

Team Winners

UCLH Paediatrics Clinical Teaching Fellows (Kate McMonnies & Tanya Bhagat & Naomi Jones & Hamish Robertson)

Whittington-UCLMS Undergraduate Education Team (application led by Tina Nyaziki)

Congratulations to our 2023-24 winners!

David Jordan (1953-2007) was Professor of Physiology at UCL. In 1980, he joined the Department of Physiology at the Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine as a lecturer and was promoted to senior lecturer in 1988, and reader in 1993. Following his promotion to Professor in 1999, and the merger with UCL, David was made Head of Department on the Royal Free Campus.

Notwithstanding his significant contribution to the body of scientific knowledge via his research, David’s input to teaching and examining was considerable. He ran a number of courses in both the science and medical degree programmes, and served as an undergraduate and higher degree external examiner both within the UK and overseas.

Saad Al-Damluji (1952-2006) was an Honorary Consultant endocrinologist at the Royal Free Hospital in London, and Senior Lecturer at the Royal Free & University College Medical School from 1995.Saad had an incisive intellect and extraordinary work ethos and level of commitment. He set the highest standards, and expected the same of others. He is missed as a colleague and teacher; more than 70 students attended his funeral. His patients adored him, and his untimely death deprived the Medical School of one of its most devoted and talented teachers.