XClose

Mechanical Engineering

Home
Menu

Professional Services

Our degree programmes and research activities are supported by the professional services staff in our Administration and Technical Teams.

Keyboard

Jump to contacts:


Departmental Manager

The Departmental Manager oversees the professional services team and departmental resources such as human resources, administration, finance, security and IT.

Anoko Campbell 

Departmental Manager
anoko.campbell@ucl.ac.uk
Int 65839

 

Strategic Partnerships

The Strategic Partnerships Director is responsible for developing collaborations with external parties including industry and government.

Dr Fiona Jamieson

Strategic Partnerships Director
fiona.jamieson@ucl.ac.uk
+44 20 310 84514

 

Personal Assistant to the Head of Department

Jane Woodward is the first point of contact to reach the Head of the Department, Yiannis Ventikos.  

Jane Woodard 

Personal Assistant to the Head of Department
mecheng.pa@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 7679 3908
Int  33908

 

Teaching and Learning 

The Teaching and Learning team is responsible for the operation and administration of the department’s degree programmes. 

Rachel Smith

Teaching and Learning Manager
 r.m.smith@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 3108 1346
Int 51346 

 

Estelle Cossin 

Postgraduate Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator
mecheng.pg-queries@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 7679 3907
Int 33907

 

Fatima Begum 

Teaching and Learning Administrator (Postgraduate Taught)
 f.a.begum@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 8138 7814
Int 07814

 

Lucy Raney

Undergrauate Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator 
mecheng.ug-queries@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 7679 7178
Int 37178

 

Vacant

Teaching and Learning Administrator (Undergraduate - Years 1 & 2)
mecheng.ug-queries@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 3108 1520
Int 51520

 

Vacant

Teaching and Learning Administrator (Postgraduate Research)
mecheng.phd@ucl.ac.uk

 

Luke Kelly 

Teaching and Learning Administrative Assistant
 luke.kelly@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 8138 7813
Int 37062

 

Valerie Govia 

Industry Outreach & Business Relationship Administrator
v.govia@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 3108 1519
Int 51519

 

Ruby Towers 

Department Student Engagement Advisor
ruby.towers.20@ucl.ac.uk

 

Communications

The Communications team is responsible for a range of departmental communications, including the website and intranet, media queries, news, marketing and events. For general Communications inquiries, please email mecheng@ucl.ac.uk.

Mykal Riley

Communications, Marketing and Events Manager
mykal.riley@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 3108 1347
Int 51347

 

Vacant

Communications, Marketing and Events Officer
+44 020 3108 1347
Int 51347

 

Staffing and Resources

The Staffing and Resources team administers the Department’s HR procedures, and supports the finance team. For general HR inquiries, please email mecheng.hr@ucl.ac.uk.

Vacant

Operations Manager
mecheng.hr@ucl.ac.uk

 

Najaha Begum 

Staffing Officer
najaha.begum@ucl.ac.uk

 

Vacant

Staffing officer
echeng.hr@ucl.ac.uk

 

Finance

The Finance team is responsible for research grant administration, procurement, budget planning and financials. For general Finance inquiries, please email mecheng.finance@ucl.ac.uk  

Alexandra Grimova

Senior Finance Administrator (Research and Contracts) 
a.grimova@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 7679 3909
Int 33909

 

Philip Ross

Research & Enterprise Administrator
philip.ross@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 3108 4129
Int 54129

 

Edward Drinkwater

Procurement Administrator
mecheng.finance@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 7679 3871
Int 33871

 

Abigail Reid

Receptionist
ucemare@ucl.ac.uk 

 

IT

The IT team manages IT provision and liaises with external service providers, as well as provides IT support.

Mark Iline

Departmental IT Manager 
m.iline@ucl.ac.uk
Int 51651

 

David Bevan

Assistant IT Manager 
mecheng.it-support@ucl.ac.uk
Int 51651

 

Project Manager 

The Project Manager is the contact point for the group (Materials Structures and Manufacturing – MSM@H). Ruikang is also the Network Manager of the exciting new MRC/BBSRC/EPSRC Technology Touching Life Network on Imaging Dynamic Biochemical and Biophysical Processes.

Ruikang Xue

Project and Network Manager
ruikang.xue@ucl.ac.uk

 

 Health, Safety and Facilities 

The Health and Safety oversees the department's health and safety activities.

Peter Kelly

Departmental Technician & Infrastructure Manager
ucempke@ucl.ac.uk
+44 020 7679 2943
Int 32943

 

Colin Skeete

Departmental Safety Officer
c.skeete@ucl.ac.uk

 

 
People in a group
Technical Support Staff 

The technical support team consists of the workshop in the Malet Place Engineering Building, which supports research and laboratories on the main campus, the team at MechSpace 44 Wicklow Street supporting student projects and research, and the complex at Harlow supporting their laboratories.


Bloomsbury

Neil Collings

Workshop Technician
un.collings@ucl.ac.uk
tel: 020 7679 0473 (direct)
internal: x30473

 

James Howe

Technician
c.skeete@ucl.ac.uk
tel: 020 7679 3842 (direct)
internal: x33842

 

Phil Jeavons

Assistant Departmental Superintendent and Safety Officer
p.jeavons@ucl.ac.uk
tel: 020 7679 0471 (direct)
internal: x30471

 

Kee Lam

Mechanical Workshop Senior Technician
k.lam@ucl.ac.uk 
tel: 020 7679 0473 (direct)
internal: x30471

 

Juan Leal

Mechanical Workshop Senior Technician
juan.leal@ucl.ac.uk

 

Douglas J Thomson

Mechanical Workshop Technician
douglas.thomson@ucl.ac.uk
tel: 020 7679 0473 (direct)
internal: x30471

 

Sebastian Marussi

Design Engineer
s.marussi@ucl.ac.uk

 

Dr Saurabh Shah

Lab Manager
s.marussi@ucl.ac.uk

 

William Leyton

Mechanical Engineering Workshop Apprentice
w.leyton@ucl.ac.uk

 

MechSpace

James Weaver

MechSpace Manager 
j.weaver@ucl.ac.uk

tel: (+44) 020 8075 6367

 

Tom Rushton

Teaching Workshop Technician
t.rushton@ucl.ac.uk 
tel: (+44) 020 8075 6367

 

Philip Sessions

Teaching Workshop Technician
p.sessions@ucl.ac.uk  
tel: (+44) 020 8075 6367

 

Hayleigh Dolphin

Teaching Workshop Technician
h.dolphin@ucl.ac.uk
tel: (+44) 020 8075 6367