About The Faculty

The Faculty of Life Sciences was founded in October 1990 and combines the strengths of UCL’s basic biological and preclinical sciences. Some of the constituent research departments have long and distinguished histories that can be traced back to the early nineteenth century and the foundation of UCL. In January 2012 the School of Pharmacy (founded in 1842) merged with UCL to form a new division within the Faculty of Life Sciences, the UCL School of Pharmacy.

The Faculty has been associated with seven Nobel Laureates, the most recent in October 2014 when Professor John O'Keefe was jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain.

The Faculty of Life Sciences presents an unrivalled environment for students and researchers in life science disciplines ranging from neuroscience to the biology of molecules, cells and organisms. Following the merger with the School of Pharmacy the Faculty has now extended the range of expertise and opportunities available to include drug discovery, formulation sciences and medicines use and health.

Located in the heart of the UCL’s Bloomsbury campus, the Faculty of Life Sciences provides outstanding opportunities for research-led and research-based study leading to one of 16 undergraduate and 13 graduate taught degrees. In addition, five iBSc programmes are offered to students studying on the MBBS programme. The Faculty is home to over 400 graduate students studying on some of the UK’s most prestigious PhD programmes.

Faculty Structure

The Faculty is comprised of four areas; three divisions - UCL Biosciences (with four constituent research departments), UCL School of Pharmacy (also with four constituent research departments) and the Laboratory of Molecular Cell Biology - plus the research unit Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit.

School of Life and Medical Sciences

The Faculty of Life Sciences together with the Faculties of Medical Sciences, Brain Sciences and Population Health Sciences form the School of Life and Medical Sciences (SLMS). UCL Medical School sits within the Faculty of Medical Sciences and provides a powerful link between the basic biological sciences and medicine.

Page last modified on 16 mar 17 10:49 by Emily Govan