Call number: DVD-4194

PABST, Georg Wilhelm
Tagebuch einer Verlorenen [Diary of a Lost Girl]

Pabst-Film, 1929; released 27 September 1929
Producer: G.W. Pabst
Screenplay: Rudolf Leonhardt, from the novel by Margarete Böhme
Photography: Sepp Allgeier, Fritz Arno Wagner
Production design: Ernö Metzner
Music for this edition: Javier Pérez de Aspeitia

Pharmacist Robert Henning		Josef Ravensky
Thymian, his daughter			Louise Brooks
Aunt Frieda				Vera Pawlowa
Meta					Franziska Kinz
Pharmacy assistant Meinert		Fritz Rasp
Elder Count Osdorff			Arnold Korff
Count Nicolas Osdorff, his nephew	André Roanne
The director of the establishment	Andrews Engelmann	 	
His wife				Valeska Gert	 	
Erika					Edith Meinhard	 	
Dr Vitalis 				Kurt Gerron	 	
Elisabeth				Sybille Schmitz	 	
Guest 					Siegfried Arno
107 minutes
German intertitles with optional English subtitles, silent with added music score

Dual format edition, on Blu-ray disc and DVD

This is the DVD

Region code 2
Aspect ratio 1.33: 1
Languages Optional English subtitles
Features New, progressive transfer from the 1997 film restoration by the Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau Stiftung
A new piano score by Javier Pérez de Aspeitia
New optional English subtitles
48-page booklet including writing by Louise Brooks, Lotte H. Eisner, Louella Interim, Craig Keller and R. Dixon Smith
Source Eureka. Masters of Cinema, 97

Back to the Bain Graffy Film Collection
Move to the home page for the School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London.
Queries to
This page last revised Monday 5 November 2018.