UCL Centre for Languages & International Education (CLIE)


Modern Foreign Languages

Study a language module for credit, including Arabic, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin, Portuguese and Spanish.


See a summary of the different language levels to see which one is right for you or check the module descriptions in each language below for more detail.

Language modules are available at 7 levels from complete beginner (level 1) to advanced (level 4) and post-A level (levels 5, 6 and 7).


  • Arabic is available at levels 1 to 5.
  • Dutch is available at levels 1 to 4.
  • Portuguese is available at levels 1 to 5. 

We also offer French for Art Historians and Italian for Art Historians at an intermediate level.

See Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) for equivalence.

Course credits

Most levels are available as either 15 or 30 credits (7.5 or 15 ECTS respectively).

A 15-credit module covers one level; a 30-credit module covers two levels. A 30-credit module is therefore more intensive and enables you to make faster progress and cover more material.

Module information by language