XClose

Information Services Division

Home
Menu

How to book a course on MyLearning

A step-by-step guide to using MyLearning to book or cancel a place on a course, to join a course or to register your interest in future dates.

This page only provides details on using MyLearning.  For more information on finding a Digital Skills Development course, preparing for a course and joining a session please see our practical course information page.

Overview

There are two ways to enrol on a course or register your interest in future dates: directly in the MyLearning app or via the MyLearning pages (and then through to the MyLearning app).  We recommend that where possible you enrol directly in the MyLearning app in order to get the best experience.  You can do this straight away if you are a member of staff on payroll.  If you are a student or a member of staff not on UCL payroll you will need to enrol via the MyLearning pages the first time you book.   This creates a profile for you so that you can access MyLearning directly for future bookings and to manage your bookings. 

Once you have booked, use the instructions below to view your enrolments in MyLearning to ensure that you have all the information about the course and to join live remote classroom sessions.  There is also information below on how to cancel your booking.

Key terms

How can I tell if a course is remote or on campus?
If you see a 'W' in the title of the course or it is listed under 'Webcasts' or the Delivery mode is given as 'Webinar (W)' then this course is offered via our remote classroom.  Courses that are campus based will have 'IL' in their title or the Delivery mode will be given as 'Instructor Led (IL)' or they will be listed under 'ILT classes'.

What is an 'Interest List'?
Each of our courses in MyLearning has one class called an Interest List which is a class with no specific date or time.   You can add yourself to the ‘waitlist’ for this class to be given priority notification about future dates for this course.  The Interest List may be listed under ‘ILT classes’ (campus based) or ‘Webcasts’ (remote classroom) but anyone adding their name to the Interest List will be informed about any new sessions that are scheduled in the future, whether they are on campus or remote.

You must be on the UCL network to book a course

Unless you are actually physically at UCL, you will need to be either using Desktop@UCL or the UCL VPN to enrol on a course or view your enrolments.

Enrol on a course or join an interest list

Enrol in the MyLearning app (primary method)

  1. Log on to MyHR.
  2. Use the Menu (top left) to navigate to UCL MyLearning > MyLearning > Learner Home.
  3. EITHER type part or all of the course title into the Search box and click on the Magnifying glass symbol (DON’T press the Enter key)
    OR click on Training By Provider and navigate to the course you want.
  4. Click on the Enrol icon.
  5. If necessary, click on Enrol or Add to waitlist for the specific class/interest list you want to join.
  6. Add further information under Enrollment Details including any special requirements you may have.
    Note that to ensure that we see your requirements as quickly as possible we recommend you also contact the training provider directly.
  7. Click on Agree and submit.
  8. Check your emails for an enrolment notification to ensure you are definitely booked on the course.  
    The email will have the subject 'FYI: MyLearning: You have sucessfully enrolled in the class'
    Note that you will receive a further two emails with MyLearning in the subject line, close to the date of the course, with full joining instructions.

Watch a short video on how to enrol on a course in MyLearning.

Enrol via the MyLearning pages

For students and non-payroll staff using MyLearning for the first time.

  1. Go to the MyLearning pages to view a list of the ‘Information Services’ courses
  2. Click on the course you are interested in.
  3. Click on Enrol or Register Interest.
  4. Enter your UCL user ID and password then click Login.
  5. Click on Login to MyLearning.
    If you are not on UCL payroll (i.e. a student, contractor or agency staff), a MyHR account will now be created for you and you may have to wait a few minutes for this to be done.
  6. Enter your UCL user ID and password and click on Login.
  7. If you are a manager, you may be asked to choose a responsibility.  If so, choose UCL MyLearning.
  8. Click Enroll on the top-right hand side of the page.
  9. Add further information under Enrollment Details including any special requirements you may have.
  10. Click Review.
  11. Click Submit.
  12. Check your emails for an enrolment notification to ensure you are definitely booked on the course.  
    The email will have the subject 'FYI: MyLearning: You have sucessfully enrolled in the class'
    Note that you will receive a further two emails with MyLearning in the subject line, close to the date of the course, with full joining instructions.

View your enrolments and join remote classroom sessions

  1. Log on to MyHR.
  2. Use the Menu (top left) to navigate to UCL MyLearning > MyLearning > Learner Home
  3. Under My Current Enrolments, click on the Class Title to see the full course details including:
    Other Information which has session dates and times for multi-part courses
    Attachments which has links to resources
  4. Click on the Play button* to go to the live session for the class.  The Play button will only become active at the start time of the session.  We will also send the joining link to you in advance of the course.

*Note that if there is no play button showing, the class is campus based and details of where the course is taking place will be sent with your joining instructions.

Cancel your booking

  1. Log on to MyHR.
  2. Use the Menu (top left) to navigate to UCL MyLearning > MyLearning > Learner Home
  3. Under My Current Enrolments, click on the hyperlinked Class Title
  4. In the top right hand side of the Class screen, select Unenroll from the ‘Select an Action’ drop-down and click on Go.
    You should receive an email to confirm that you have successfully unenrolled from the class.