Drupal CMS: Workbench revisions and approvals
Learn about Workbench in Drupal. It allows editors to preview and compare changes, roll back revisions and approve content or changes by authors in their group.
Workbench allows more control over content publishing.
Rather than publishing immediately with one click, all roles - including those with the right to publish - can check their drafts before they publish.
When you are logged in, the first item in the top toolbar is called My Workbench: this is where you can easily access your own drafts or see a handy list of changes to approve from authors.
Roles and workflow
Senior Editors and Editors can publish their own content.
Authors can create content but this must be approved by a Senior Editor or Editor.
Creating and publishing new content for Senior Editors and Editors
When you create a new page and click save, this creates a draft of the page.
If you want to publish, go to 'Publishing options' in the left-hand menu.
In the dropdown menu under 'Moderation state' click on 'published'.
Asking for moderation for Authors
When you create a new page, click on 'Revision information' in the left-hand menu.
In the dropdown menu under 'Moderation state, click on 'Needs review'.
The Senior Editor or Editor will now look at the page(s) you created and publish these when approved.
Approving content created by Authors
Editors and Senior Editors can see a list of pages or changes by authors that need review under My Workbench | Needs Review.
To approve you go through the same stages as you do for publishing your own content.
Making changes to existing content
This is exactly the same for making changes to existing content except that you may want to compare your changes to an earlier version.
When you click moderate you will see a full list of revisions for that piece of content.
- You can set the new draft to live by selecting published from the status dropdown.
- You can roll back to an earlier version by clicking revert. This sets the earlier version live and creates a new revision.
- You can compare changes by selecting two revisions and clicking compare.
Deleting content and deleting revisions
You can delete a revision when you click moderate and click delete on an individual revision from the full list.
Do not click delete when you are editing a draft as this will delete the entire web page: this cannot be undone!