XClose

UCL Institute of Ophthalmology

Home
Menu

Professional Services

The Operations Team

Nick Burt
Research Manager
n.burt@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6802

  • Coordination and management of pre and post-award support
  • Institute’s central point of reference for research administration related enquiries
  • Provide financial administration authorisation for changes to grant budgets and for grant-funded staffing

Jill Cowing
Environment and Safety Manager
j.cowing@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6822

  • Building refurbishment & Estates project requests, including advising on capital investment projects
  • Health & Safety
  • Security, access & inductions for new staff
  • Sustainability

James Curwen
Communications and Marketing Manager (Interim)
ioo.comms@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 07741 671 385

  • Managing Institute-wide communications and marketing, including website and intranet maintenance
  • Social media management and content development
  • Student recruitment marketing and student engagement
  • Liaison with strategic partners (Moorfields) and Faculty communications team

Avili Feese
Athena SWAN Project Manager
ioo-equality@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6986

  • Promote equality, diversity and inclusion across the Institute, with a particular emphasis on gender equality
  • Develop and deliver Institute events, seminars and/or workshops relating to equality, diversity and inclusion
  • Facilitate the Institute’s submission for the Athena SWAN Charter

Zohra Hamidi
Finance Manager
ioo.finance@ucl.ac.uk

  • First point of contact for finance-related queries in relation to core and other activities at the institute
  • Intermediary contact for institute team and Faculty finance team

Matt Hayes
Imaging Unit Manager
m.hayes@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7594 3105


Liz Hurst
Compliance and HR Support Manager
k.hurst@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6803

  • All animal ethics and Home Office compliance issues, including project and personal licences
  • Clinical staff, agency staff, senior promotions process, letters for staff, any ad hoc returns
  • Visitor status, status questionnaire, job hazard forms; enable emails to be set up for visitor and honorary users

Naheed Kanuga
Senior Laboratory Manager
n.kanuga@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6891


Heather Kneale
Institute Administration Manager
h.kneale@ucl.ac.uk


Joanna Pajerska
Education Manager 
ioo.education@ucl.ac.uk

  • Manage Education Team in Postgraduate Taught administration and student life-cycle (including introduction of new programmes, admissions, induction, assessment) 
  • Postgradute Research administration and student life-cycle
  • Student support 
  • Advise on education policy for the Institute

Claire Roberts
HR Manager
claire.roberts@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6928

  • Responsible for sickness absence reporting, Access to Work claims and ‘back to work’ meetings
  • Administration of probations and appraisals
  • First point of contact for all levels of honorary contracts

Wing-Chau Tung
Institute Manager
w.tung@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6935

  • Support the Institute Director in implementing the Institute’s strategy and policies
  • Lead the Institute’s professional service operations
  • Manage the operational infrastructure of the Institute to support education, research, administration and other activities

Gill Tunstall
HR Manager
g.tunstall@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6955

  • Provide advice and support to PIs and line managers on UCL HR policies and procedures
  • Manage job adverts and requests to central HR for contracts, changes to appointments and leavers
  • Advise on certificate of sponsorship applications

Cynthia Wilson
Executive Assistant to the Institute Director
cynthia.wilson@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7608 6808

  • Manage Director’s diary and provide support for him
  • Administration for Institute Executive Committee and Deputy Directors
  • Support the Deputy Directors in relation to their roles 
  • Institute newsletter 
  • Some communications, including digital signage