UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology


UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology academics elected Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences

14 May 2020

The fifty newly elected Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences (AMS) includes nine academics from UCL, in recognition of the incredible contributions they have made to medical science.

AMS sign

These Fellows have been chosen for their outstanding efforts in the field of biomedical science, including national science engagement and communication programmes, research discoveries and translating scientific advancements into benefits for public healthcare.

The academics from UCL Squeen Square Institute of Neurology are:

  • Professor Mary Reilly (Queen Square Centre for Neuromuscular Diseases, UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology)

Professor Reilly’s research has explored the inherited neuropathies with a focus on translational research, and currently is part of a programme on human gene identification and analysis.

  • Professor Bart De Strooper (UK Dementia Research Institute at UCL)

A world-renowned Alzheimer’s researcher, Professor De Strooper’s research aims to understand the mechanisms which fundamentally underlie Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s disease.

Commenting on UCL’s nine new AMS Fellows, Professor David Lomas, UCL Vice Provost (Health), said: “I am delighted that so many colleagues have been elected to the highly respected Academy Fellowship. The new UCL affiliated members have each made outstanding contributions to biomedical science and these fellowships are well deserved recognition of their remarkable work.

The range of disciplines represented, from global health to paediatric surgery, is testament to the quality and breadth of the work being done across the UCL School of Life and Medical Sciences. I am immensely proud.”

Professor Sir Robert Lechler PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said:

“I am delighted to welcome these 50 new Fellows into the Academy’s Fellowship. Each one has made their own outstanding contribution to biomedical science, and together they are advancing the health of our society in the UK and internationally. Their work affects us all, from the way we keep healthy through our lifestyle, to how we are treated if we become ill, to the way we receive information about health.”

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy on 25 June 2020.



Credit: Big T images for Academy of Medical Sciences