UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology


UCL academics join prestigious academy fellowship

9 May 2019

Seven UCL researchers, including two from UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology, are among 50 new Fellows elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences in recognition of their outstanding contributions to medical science.

Academy of Medical Sciences entrance

The new Fellows have been selected for cutting-edge research discoveries and for translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society. The fellowships also recognise contributions to medical science through outstanding leadership, public engagement and supporting the career advancement of junior trainees.

The UCL academics selected to join the academy’s fellowship are:

Professor Judith Breuer (UCL Infection & Immunity), Professor of Virology and Co-director of the UCL Division of Infection and Immunity. Her laboratory has pioneered the whole genome sequencing of pathogens.

Professor Robert Brownstone (UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology), Brain Research UK Chair of Neurosurgery at UCL. His lab seeks to understand how motor circuits contribute to the rehabilitation of movement in disease or injury, aiding the development of new strategies to improve movement in people with neurological disorders.

Professor Michael Hanna (UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology), Professor of Clinical Neurology and Director of the UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology. His long-standing research interest lies in elucidating the molecular genetic mechanisms in mitochondrial diseases and muscle/neurological channelopathies (disorders resulting from the dysfunction of ion channels). His research has also focused on the development of improved genetic diagnostics.

Professor Harry Hemingway, (UCL Institute of Health Informatics), Professor of Clinical Epidemiology. His research focuses on cardiovascular disease in populations. He co-founded the world’s first national Institute (the Farr) harnessing “big” health record data for research to improve health and healthcare.

Professor Jonathan Ledermann (UCL Cancer Institute), Professor of Medical Oncology and Director of the Cancer Research UK & UCL Cancer Trials Centre (UCL CTC). Professor Ledermann has developed and led several national and international trials in gynaecological cancer and is currently leading two trials with novel drugs in ovarian cancer.

Professor Chris Mason (UCL Biochemical Engineering), Professor of Cell and Gene Therapy. Professor Mason is at the forefront of the fields of cell therapy and regenerative medicine translation and leads the Regenerative Medicine Bioprocess Group in the UCL Advanced Centre for Biochemical Engineering.

Dr James Briscoe (UCL Cell & Developmental Biology), also Group Leader at the Francis Crick Institute. His lab studies how the spinal cord forms before birth and works towards understanding the fundamentals of how an embryo develops.

Professor David Lomas, UCL Vice Provost (Health), said: “I am delighted that so many principal investigators from UCL have been elected as Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences. It is a great achievement and well deserved recognition for many years of high-quality research.”
Professor Sir Robert Lechler, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: “The Academy’s Fellowship is a unique assembly of the finest minds in biomedical and health research, from across the UK and beyond. "
"Our Fellows are at the centre of all that we do, from supporting early career researchers via our hugely popular mentorship programme to incorporating public and patient views into health research. Their collective wisdom is a national asset to guide research and policy aimed at tackling pressing health challenges."
“It brings me great pleasure to congratulate the new Fellows, each of whom has pushed the boundaries of their individual research field. I am always delighted to see the Fellowship expand, adding fresh talent to our invaluable pool of high quality guidance, advice and expertise.”

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 26 June 2019.



The Academy of Medical Sciences


Credit: Academy of Medical Sciences