UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology


Teaching Awards 2015

1 May 2015

The Education Unit would like to highlight the following teaching awards

Clinical Teaching Awards

For the fourth year voting was held for the Djamshidian-Chinthapalli award for outstanding contribution to teaching (for bedside teaching for MSc/Diploma students) and the winner of the award was Dr Duncan Austin with an honourable mention for Dr Niccolo Mencacci, Dr Ross Nortley, Dr Alex Horga, Dr Mark Nowell, Dr Catherine Slattery and Dr Niamh Cawley. We would like to congratulate Dr Austin on the award of Best Bedside Teacher of the Year 2013/14.  


The winner for Clinical Tutor of the year went to Dr James Gratwicke (eligibility was based on clinical sessions, Master Classes, and Case Presentation sessions), with an honourable mention to Dr Kenji Yamamoto, Dr Wallace Brownlee, Dr Fion Bremner and Prof Niall Quinn . We would like to pass on our congratulations to Dr Gratwicke and to thank everyone who contributed to teaching this year.  


Clinical Neuroscience Dr Tony Pullen Lecturer of the Year Award

For the third year the Education Unit asked all MSc Clinical Neuroscience students to vote for their lecturer of the year, in our attempt to recognise and reward our outstanding lecturers.

I am pleased to announce that Dr Katerina Fotopoulou has been awarded the Dr Tony Pullen Lecturer of the Year Award. Students cited Dr Fotopoulou for a very interactive and enjoyable lecture.

Dr Fotopoulou is the third recipient of the Dr Tony Pullen Lecturer of the Year Award (the award is so named in recognition for the dedication that Dr Pullen showed during his time at Queen Square and in particular for his tireless support of teaching and pastoral care for students enrolled on the MSc in Clinical Neuroscience). 

Second place goes to Dr Ed Wild, with third place being shared between Professor Nick Fox and Professor John Rothwell.

Honourable mentions to Prof Adolfo Bronstein, Professor Nick Wood, Dr Mark Edwards, Dr Helene Plun-Favreau, Prof Jack Price, Dr Fion Bremner, Prof James Fawcett, Prof Joanna Zakrzewska, Dr Joern Diedrichsen, Dr Jonathan Rohrer, Prof Mary Reilly, Prof Tom Warner, Dr Steve Kennerley, Dr Patrick Lewis and Prof Matthew Walker who all polled votes.