IOE - Faculty of Education and Society


IOE staff awarded for their excellent teaching

20 May 2020

Numerous UCL Institute of Education (IOE) academics have received UCL Education Awards for their outstanding contributions to the learning experience and success of UCL students.

UCL teacher and student discussion

Dr Esmé Glauert (Department of Learning and Leadership), Dr Sue Taylor (Centre for Doctoral Education) and the Centre for Applied Linguistics team, have been nominated for the Provost’s Education Award and awarded a UCL Education Award by the IOE.

They are part of 32 individuals and 9 teams who have been shortlisted across the University.

Exceptional individuals and teams from the nominees receive the Provost's Education Award.

UCL Education Awards recognise the work of colleagues that is less visible to students, work that has enabled excellent practice or facilitated innovation in teaching and learning.

In addition to this success, many IOE academics have been nominated by students for the Student Choice Awards 2020, which celebrate the work of UCL’s teaching and support staff.

Over a week-long period, beginning on Wednesday 10 June, winners of both the Student Choice Awards and UCL Provost's Education Awards will be announced in a virtual exhibition.

The nominated team in the Centre for Applied Linguistics includes: Professor Li Wei, Jane Allemano, Dr Froso Argyri, Dr Alfonso Del Percio, Dr Zsófia Demjén, Dr John Gray, Dr Talia Isaacs, David Mallows, Dr Jim McKinley, Dr Dina Mehmedbegovic-Smith, Dr John O’Regan, Professor Amos Paran, Dr Ana Pellicer-Sánchez, Dr Miguel Pérez-Milans, Dr Siân Preece, Professor Andrea Révész, Dr Kazuya Saito, Dr Ruanni Tupas, Sahra Abdullahi, Dr Sezgi Goksan.



Image: Alejandro Walter Salinas Lopez for UCL Digital Media