IOE - Faculty of Education and Society



People of the Helen Hamlyn Centre for Pedagogy (HHCP).

Core staff
  • Professor Sonia Blandford
  • Dr Rosie Flewitt
  • Jeremy Myerson
  • Lucy O'Rorke FRSA
  • Hayley Peacock
  • John Roche 

About our Advisors

Practitioner Advisory Board
  • Megan Dixon
  • Charlotte Hacking 
  • Paul Jackson
  • Lucy O’Rorke FRSA
  • Thelma Walker
  • June O'Sullivan MBE
  • Christine Parker 
  • Professor Dame Alison Peacock
  • Professor Dominic Wyse.

About our Practitioner Advisory Board members 

Centre members
Affiliate members
  • Jennese Alozie, Director of Effectiveness and Performance at STEP Academy Trust 
  • Amy Antoniou, Lead Trauma Perceptive Practitioner, Training and Development Coordinator, Wells Park School
  • Mark Avis, Director of Maths at Aspirer Teaching School Alliance / Aspirer Research School
  • Andrew Baldock, Assistant Headteacher of Our Lady of Hartley Catholic Primary School and Specialist Leader of Education (Computing) for the KCSP Teaching School Alliance
  • Hatice Bisgin, Teacher and Early Childhood Education Specialist
  • Dr Sara Bonetti, Director of Early Years at the Education Policy Institute
  • Stephanie Booth, SENCo and Year 2 teacher of Linton CE Infants
  • Jasen Booton, Teacher Educator and Coach, Learning and Teaching Consultant for the Global Effective Learning Network
  • Kimberley Buchanan, Assistant Headteacher of Greenside Primary School and GGL Federation Head of Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
  • Thamara Bulmer, Program Director and Lecturer in Early Childhood Studies at the University of Hull          
  • Peter Cansell, National Executive Information Officer of National Association for Primary Education (NAPE) and Founding Director of The Oxford School of Thought
  • Anne Charnley, Headteacher of St Clare’s Catholic Primary School
  • Stephanie Clarke, Deputy Head at Brookfield Primary School
  • John Coe, Editor of Primary First, National Association for Primary Education (NAPE) 
  • Emma Cookson, Module Leader FdA and BA Hons Early Childhood Studies at the University Centre at Blackburn College
  • Fiona Crean, Headteacher at the Belmont Infant School 
  • Lydia Cuddy-Gibbs
  • Trish Curran-Crofts, Lecturer in Education and Early Childhood Studies and Programme Director of BA (Hons) Working with Children, Young People and Families at the University of Hull 
  • Joy Dahl, Coordinator for London Refocus Network and Visiting School Supervisor for Roehampton University
  • Dr Laura D'Olimpio, Co-editor of Journal of Philosophy in Schools and Senior Lecturer in Philosophy of Education at the University of Birmingham        
  • Robin Duckett, Director of Sightlines Initiative
  • Dr Tony Eaude, Independent Researcher and Author associated with Humanities 20:20
  • Jocelyn Elmer, Lecturer at Health and Care Department, Cardiff and Vale College
  • Wendy Forbes, School Adviser and Alliance Partner: Standards and Learning and Effectiveness Service (East Sussex Local Authority); Education researcher: Cambridge University (FoE).
  • Neil R. Garner, Researcher in Education and Social Media and independent academic
  • Julian Grenier, Headteacher at Sheringham Nursery School and Children's Centre
  • Dominic Gunn, Specialist Teaching and Learning Service (Early Years) at Goldwyn School
  • Marion Hampton, Inclusion Advice and Support Consultant
  • Penny Hay, Director of Research for 5x5x5=creativity, Research Fellow in the Centre for Cultural and Creative Industries and Senior Lecturer in Arts Education at Bath Spa University
  • Gorana Henry, Deputy Headteacher at Wessex Gardens Primary School
  • Shrewsbury Institute, Shrewsbury International School, Bangkok
  • Louise Johns-Shepherd, Chief Executive at the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education
  • David Jones, Teaching and Learning Director of The Scholars Programme, The Brilliant Club
  • Dr Elizabeth Malone, Head of Primary Programmes, School of Education, Liverpool John Moores University 
  • Rosalind Millam, Professional Development Manager at the Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years 
  • Dr Anastasia Misirli, Research Fellow Teaching Practice & Placement Office, Department of Educational Sciences and Early Childhood Education, University of Patras
  • Pete Moorhouse FRSA, CF, Early Years Creative Consultant, Artist Educator at St Werburgh’s Park Nursery School, Bristol
  • Liz Moorse, Chief Executive at the Association for Citizenship Teaching (ACT)
  • Michelle Murray, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Principal for Education Learning Trust
  • National Association for Primary Education (NAPE)
  • Pen Green Teaching School Alliance and the Pen Green Research, Professional Development and Training Base
  • Dr Aimee Quickfall, Head of Programmes – Primary and Early Years Initial Teacher Education at Bishop Grosseteste University.
  • Cécile Remy,  Alternative Education Development Coordinator, Kids.
  • Marlene Santander, Teacher at School of Tomorrow-Gimmasio del Saber, Paraguay
  • Angela Scollan, Senior Lecturer Early Childhood Studies and Education Studies at Middlesex University
  • Amanda Seager, Headteacher at Trinity First School
  • Wendy Scott OBE, President at the Association for Professional Development in Early Years (TACTYC)
  • Wendy Smith, Trainer and Educational Consultant and Chair of Governors at Three Bridges Primary School
  • Juliet Taylor, Educational Director at CityKids Nursery School, Tel Aviv 
  • Efterpi Theodorou, Deputy Head and Teacher at Alphablocks Nursery 
  • Vicky Watts, Teacher and KS1/EYFS English Lead, Dines Green Community Academy
  • Yuwei Xu, Research Fellow at the Centre for Teacher and Early Years Education
  • Ross Young, National Writing Representative at the United Kingdom Literacy Association (UKLA).