Monday 7th April 2014.

Time: 1.00-2.00pm (tea/coffee available from 12.40pm)

Kennedy Lecture Theatre, UCL Institute of Child Health.


Find out more about the Otto Wolff lectures, view details about our upcoming lectures, or read about previous lectures in our archive.


If you would like to suggest someone as a speaker, please contact the OWL Committee Chair, Professor Christine Kinnon.

For any administrative questions, please contact Nicole Hofmans.

How do oxygen-sensing pathways regulate neutrophil apoptosis and function during inflammation?

Part of the Otto Wolff Lecture series 2014.

Professor Moira Whyte OBE

Professor of Respiratory Medicine, The University of Sheffield


Oxygen availability has emerged as a crucial regulator of inflammatory responses. Signalling via the HIF pathway regulates tissue inflammation in health and disease, particularly in the lung, where tissues are exposed to very variable levels of oxygen. The importance of these pathways in inflammatory lung diseases is increasingly recognised, with the prospect of therapeutic targeting.

Prof M. Whyte, Picture OWL 07.04.2014


Moira Whyte is Professor of Respiratory Medicine and Head of the Department of Infection and Immunity at the University of Sheffield.

Moira trained in medicine at St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College, University of London and undertook postgraduate training at the Hammersmith Hospital, London, including an MRC Training Fellowship in Respiratory Cell Biology. She subsequently held a Wellcome Advanced Fellowship at the University of Nottingham and the Imperial Cancer Research Fund Laboratories, Lincoln’s Inn Fields, London. She was appointed to Sheffield in 1996 where she heads the Academic Unit of Respiratory Medicine and the Department of Infection and Immunity. Her research group have interests in basic mechanisms of innate immunity and she has clinical interests in chronic obstructive pulmonary diseases (COPD) and interstitial lung diseases. She has served on a number of MRC, NIHR and Wellcome Trust grants panels and is Registrar of the Academy of Medical Sciences.


The University of Sheffield