XClose

UCL Hebrew & Jewish Studies

Home
Menu

Academic Staff

Full-time Staff

Name

Field of Interest

Contact

Seth Anziska

Mohamed S. Farsi-Polonsky Lecturer in Jewish-Muslim Relations

Modern Middle Eastern history, Palestinian and Israeli society and culture

020 7679 2766

s.anziska@ucl.ac.uk 

Helen Beer

Ben Zion Margulies Lecturer in Yiddish

Yiddish language, literature, culture

020 7679 3586

h.beer@ucl.ac.uk

Michael Berkowitz

Professor of Modern Jewish History

German Jewry, English-speaking Jewry, Holocaust, Jews in science and technology

020 7679 2814

m.berkowitz@ucl.ac.uk

Mark Geller

Jewish Chronicle Professor of Jewish Studies

 

m.geller@ucl.ac.uk

François Guesnet

Reader in Modern Jewish History

Modern Jewish History, Polish Jewish History, Eastern Europe

020 7679 3720

f.guesnet@ucl.ac.uk

Lily Kahn

Reader in Hebrew & Jewish Languages, Interim Department Head

Hebrew and Jewish Languages and Linguistics

020 7679 3171

l.kahn@ucl.ac.uk

Neill Lochery

Professor of Middle Eastern and Mediterranean Studies

Middle Eastern and Mediterranean Studies

020 7679 3028 

n.f.lochery@ucl.ac.uk

Sonja Noll

Teaching Fellow

Semantics, Comparative Semitics, the Ancient Versions (Septuagint, Targum, Peshitta), Historical Linguistics, and Lexicography.s.noll@ucl.ac.uk

Willem Smelik

Professor of Biblical Hebrew and Aramaic

Aramaic Language and Literature, Hebrew Bible (esp. Former Prophets), Classical Rabbinic Literature, textual transmission

020 7679 3590

willem.smelik@ucl.ac.uk

Sacha Stern

Professor of Rabbinic Judaism and Head of the Department of Hebrew and Jewish Studies

Jewish history in Antiquity, Calendars and time, Rabbinic literature

020 7679 0483

sacha.stern@ucl.ac.uk

 

Part-time Staff

NameField of InterestContact

Sima Beeri

Yiddish literature and education, Jewish traditional food

s.beeri@ucl.ac.uk

Gillian Greenberg

Syriac Bible, Hebrew Bible, Translation, Peshitta

020 7679 2420

g.greenberg@ucl.ac.uk

Tali Loewenthal

Hasidism, Modernity, Jewish Mysticism, Orthodoxy, Gender in Orthodoxy

020 7679 3588

n.loewenthal@ucl.ac.uk

Rina Kreitman

Modern Hebrewr.kreitman@ucl.ac.uk

Shoshana Sharpe

Modern Hebrew

020 7679 2420

shoshana.sharpe@ucl.ac.uk

Additional Associates

NameField of InterestContact

Simo Muir

Honarary Research Associate

Yiddish culture during and after Shoah, Jewish history in Finland, Postwar politics of memory

s.muir@ucl.ac.uk

Hilary Pomeroy

Emerata Teaching Fellow

  

Ada Rapoport-Albert

Emerita Professor of Hebrew and Jewish Studies

Hasidism, Kabbalah, Messianism, Gender Issues in Judaismr.rapaport-albert@ucl.ac.uk

Tsila Ratner

Emerata Lecturer in Modern Hebrew Literature

Modern Hebrew literature, Women’s writing, Gender studies

t.ratner@ucl.ac.uk

Nadia Vidro

Research Staff

 n.vidro@ucl.ac.uk

Sonya Yampolskaya

Research Staff

 s.yampolskaya@ucl.ac.uk