XClose

UCL Hebrew & Jewish Studies

Home
Menu

Academic Staff

 

Name

Field of Interest

Contact

Seth Anziska

Mohamed S. Farsi-Polonsky Associate Professor of Jewish-Muslim Relations

Modern Middle Eastern History

Israel and Palestine

020 7679 2766

s.anziska@ucl.ac.uk 

Sima Beeri

Lecturer (Teaching) in Yiddish

Yiddish pedagogy

Jewish traditional food

s.beeri@ucl.ac.uk

Michael Berkowitz

Professor of Modern Jewish History

German Jewry

English-speaking Jewry

Holocaust Studies

Jews in science and technology

020 7679 2814

m.berkowitz@ucl.ac.uk

Alinda Damsma

Lecturer (Teaching) in Biblical Hebrew

Witchcraft in biblical and post-biblical times

Aramaic dialectology
a.damsma@ucl.ac.uk

Mark Geller

Jewish Chronicle Professor of Jewish Studies

Ancient Babylonian medicine

Syriac medicine

Talmud medicine

m.geller@ucl.ac.uk

Shirli Gilbert

Professor of Modern Jewish History

Jews in South Africa

Holocaust memory
shirli.gilbert@ucl.ac.uk

Sonia Gollance

Lecturer in Yiddish

Modern Jewish literature

Gender and Yiddish theatre

s.gollance@ucl.ac.uk

François Guesnet

Professor of Modern Jewish History

Modern Jewish History

Polish Jewish History

Eastern Europe

020 7679 3720

f.guesnet@ucl.ac.uk

Lily Kahn

Professor of Hebrew & Jewish Languages and Head of the Department of Hebrew and Jewish Studies

Contemporary Hasidic Yiddish

Jewish languages

Contemporary Ashkenazic Hebrew

Hebrew in Eastern Europe

Multilingualism in Hasidic communities

020 7679 3171

l.kahn@ucl.ac.uk

Neill Lochery

Professor of Middle Eastern and Mediterranean Studies

Middle Eastern and Mediterranean Studies

020 7679 3028 

n.f.lochery@ucl.ac.uk

Tali Loewenthal

Lecturer (Teaching) 

Hasidism and modernity

Jewish Mysticism

Orthodoxy/Gender in Orthodoxy

020 7679 3588

n.loewenthal@ucl.ac.uk

Tamara Novis

Lecturer (Teaching) in Modern Hebrew

Modern Hebrewt.novis@ucl.ac.uk

Shoshana Sharpe

Lecturer (Teaching) in Modern Hebrew

Modern Hebrew

020 7679 2420

shoshana.sharpe@ucl.ac.uk

Willem Smelik

Professor of Hebrew and Aramaic

Aramaic Language and Literature, Hebrew Bible (esp. Former Prophets), Classical Rabbinic Literature, textual transmission

020 7679 3590

willem.smelik@ucl.ac.uk

Sacha Stern

Professor of Rabbinic Judaism

Jewish history in Antiquity

Calendars and time

Rabbinic literature

Qaraites and Rabbanites

020 7679 0483

sacha.stern@ucl.ac.uk

 

Additional Associates

NameField of InterestContact

Helen Beer

Emerita Ben Zion Margulies Lecturer in Yiddish

Yiddish language, literature, cultureh.beer@ucl.ac.uk

Gillian Greenberg

Honorary Research Associate and Lecturer (Teaching)

Syriac Bible, Hebrew Bible, Translation, Peshittag.greenberg@ucl.ac.uk

Simo Muir

Honorary Research Associate

Yiddish culture during and after Shoah, Jewish history in Finland, Postwar politics of memorys.muir@ucl.ac.uk

Hilary Pomeroy

Emerita Lecturer

  

Tsila Ratner

Emerata Lecturer in Modern Hebrew Literature

Modern Hebrew literature, Women’s writing, Gender studies

t.ratner@ucl.ac.uk

Nadia Vidro

Research Staff

Medieval Jewish intellectual and social history, Calendars, Jewish manuscriptsn.vidro@ucl.ac.uk

Sonya Yampolskaya

Research Staff

Hebrew language (Maskilic and premodern period), Yiddish language (Yiddish dialects and Hasidic Yiddish)s.yampolskaya@ucl.ac.uk

Carlos Yebra López

UKRI Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Ladino

Contemporary Ladino/Judeo-Spanish

Digital revitalisation

carlos.yebra.lopez@ucl.ac.uk

In Memoriam

 

Ada Rapoport-Albert

Emerita Professor of Hebrew and Jewish Studies and Head of Department