UCL Health


Wellcome Trust PhD Programme for Clinicians

UCL hosts a Wellcome Trust funded PhD Programme for Clinicians. This has been a flagship scheme aimed at supporting the most promising medically qualified clinicians who wish to undertake rigorous research training, leading to the award of a PhD.


Wellcome Trust PhD Programme for Clinicians

The final round of recruitment to this programme was completed in 2021. There are no institutional programmes specifically for clinicians at present. Those wishing to undertake a clinical research training/doctoral fellowship at UCL should approach potential supervisors directly with a view to fellowship applications to NIHR (https://www.nihr.ac.uk/explore-nihr/academy-programmes/fellowship-programme.htm), MRC (https://mrc.ukri.org/skills-careers/fellowships/clinical-fellowships/clinical-research-training-fellowship-crtf/), or an appropriate charity that provides doctoral fellowship scheme.

Our Fellows

2021 Appointed Fellows

  • Harry Costello- Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience 
  • Puja Mehta- Institute of Neurology 
  • Clare Thakker- Division of Infection and Immunity
  • Olivia Lucas- Cancer Institute
  • Sanjay Budhdeo- Dept of Clinical and Movement Neurosciences

2020  Appointed Fellows

  • Thomas Callender- Respiratory Medicine
  • Maria Krutikov- Institute of Health Informatics
  • Priya Rajyaguru- Division of Psychiatry 

2019 Appointed Fellows

  • Alasdair Warwick- Institute of Cardiovascular Science (Population Health)
  • William Scotton- Dementia Research Centre
  • Danielle Solomon- Institute for Global Health 
  • George Collins- Infection and Immunity
  • Jonathan Rogers- Division of Psychiatry

2018 Appointed Fellows

  • Thomas Fox- Infection and Immunity
  • Robert Lever- Infection and Immunity
  • Sinead McGlacken-Byrne- Institute of Child Health
  • Matthew Nour - Max Planck UCL Centre for Computational Psychiatry and Aging Research
  • Nekisa Zakeri- Infection and Immunity

2017 Appointed Fellows

  • Angharad Davis - Division of Biosciences
  • Ehsan Ghorani- Cancer Institute 
  • Neha Pathak- Institute of Epidemiology and Health Care
  • Adam Pennycuick- Centre for Respiratory Biology
  • Ramya Srinivasan- Division of Psychiatry

2016 Appointed Fellows

  • Deepak Chandrasekharan- Lungs for Living 
  • Dami Collier- Division of Infection and Immunity
  • Douglas Fink - Division of Infection and Immunity
  • Constantinos Parisinos- Institute of Health Informatics 
  • Emily Shaw-Wise- Division of Infection and Immunity

2015 Appointed Fellows

  • Anna Aryee- Institute of Health Informatics
  • Anob Chakrabati- UCL Genetics Institute (UGI) 
  • Kate El Bouzadi- Division of Infection and Immunity
  • Neil Halliday- Division of Infection and Immunity
  • Valerie Kuan- Cell and Developmental Biology

2014  'Next Step' Appointed Fellows

  • Cordelia Coltart- Department of Infection and Population Health 
  • Maryam Khosravi - Divison of Biosciences
  • Neelam Kumar- Divison of Medicine 
  • Richard Rosch- Institute of Neurology 
  • Taavi Tillman- Institute of Epidemiology and Health care 
      Programme Director

      Mahdad Noursadeghi
      Mahdad Noursadeghi is Professor of Infectious Diseases and a Wellcome Trust Investigator, studying the immunology of human infectious diseases with a focus on tuberculosis. He has hosted clinical fellows in his group continuously since 2008 and provided academic mentorship for clinician scientists through the UCL Academic Careers Office since 2013, with the aim of encouraging and enabling inquisitive clinicians to break new ground in our understanding of health and disease through innovative and rigorous science.     

      Contacts: If you have any questions about the programme, please contact Jo Rickett j.rickett@ucl.ac.uk

      Academic Careers Office:

      Office of the Vice-Provost (Health)
      University College London
      1st Floor Maple House
      149 Tottenham Court Road
      London W1T 7NF

      Supervisor profiles

      The UCL WT clinical PhD Program attracts high calibre candidates. We are aiming to ensure our fellows have access to the widest possible pool of high-quality investigators who want to engage with the program as supervisors, and have the appropriate experience and resources. To achieve this, we offer a regularly updated list of approved supervisors across the many different Departments and Institutes at UCL, plus the Francis Crick Institute in which UCL is a founding partner.

      Population Health

      Medical Sciences

      • Professor Mahdad Noursadeghi 
      • Professor David Lomas 
      • Professor Hans Stauss 
      • Professor Mala Maini
      • Professor Michael Hausser
      • Professor Alun Hughes
      • Professor Charles Swanton 
      • Professor David Abraham 
      • Professor Lucy Walker 
      • Professor David Sansom 
      • Professor Greg Towers 
      • Professor Derek Gilroy 
      • Professor Sam Janes
      • Professor John Wood 
      • Professor Amit Nathwani 
      • Professor Rachel Chambers 
      • Dr Claire Roddie 
      • Professor Jasmin Fisher 
      • Dr Matthew Reeves 
      • Professor Joe Standing 
      • Professor Bart Vanhaesebroeck
      • Professor Elizabeth Jury 
      • Professor Robert Heyderman
      • Professor Andrew Smith 
      • Professor Stuart Taylor
      • Professor Charles Swanton 
      • Dr Mariam Jamal-Hanjani
      • Dr Richard Hebber 
      • Dr Liam Browne 
      • Professor Jeremy Brown
      • Dr Clare Jolly 
      • Dr Martin Pule
      • Professor Stephen Pereira
      • Professor Alastair Sutcliffe
      • Professor Michael Ehrenstein

      Brain Sciences 

      • Professor Nicholas Wood 
      • Professor John Hardy 
      • Professor Dimitri Kullmann
      • Professor Jonathan Roiser 
      • Professor Raymond Dolan 
      • Professor Sophie Scott 
      • Professor Jason Warren
      • Professor Sarah Tabrizi
      • Professor Kenneth Harris 
      • Professor Mike Cheetham 
      • Professor Christiana Ruhrberg
      • Professor Elizabeth Fisher
      • Professor Glyn Lewis 
      • Professor Michel Michaelides
      • Dr Nik Sharma  
      • Dr Frances Wiseman 
      • Professor David Osborn 
      • Dr Stephen Fleming 
      • Professor Pietro Fratta 
      • Professor Anthony David
      • Professor Adrian Isaacs
      • Professor Giampietro Schiavo
      • Professor Rob Brownstone

      Life Sciences 

      Francis Crick Institute