Governance and compliance


Research Degrees Committee: membership

Information regarding the membership of the UCL Research Degrees Committee.

On this page you will find the details of :

Ex Officio members

Pro-Vice-Provost of the Doctoral School (Chair)
Professor David Bogle

Vice-Provost (Education and Student Experience) 
Professor Deborah Gill

Director of Academic Services
Dr Helen Matthews

Deputy Director (Doctoral School)
Ms Elizabeth Halton

Nominee of Director of UCL Arena
Dr Sam Smidt

Student Records Manager
Ms Helen Notter

Students' Union Postgraduate Officer
Ms Viktoria Makai

UCL Student Mediator
Dr Ruth Siddall

Faculty Graduate Tutors

Arts and Humanities
Dr Andrew Flinn

Brain Sciences
Dr Jo Barnes

Built Environment
Dr Yasminah Beebeejaun 

UCL Institute of Education
Dr Jane Perryman

Engineering Sciences
Professor Simon Banks

Professor Alex Mills

Life Sciences
Professor Jasmina Jovanovic

Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Professor Tania Monteiro

Medical Sciences
Dr Jill Norman

Population Health Sciences
Dr Andy Stoker

Social and Historical Sciences
Dr Alan Ingram

Nominated members

One Vice Head of the Doctoral School, nominated by the Pro-Vice-Provost of the Doctoral School:

  • Professor David Spratt (1)

One research graduate student, nominated by the UCL Union:

  • To be notified

One representative of the organisations with which UCL has educational partnerships or collaborations, nominated by the Pro-Vice-Provost of the Doctoral School:

  • Dr Sally Leevers (6)

Elected members

Three academic staff - including at least one professor and one non-professor - elected by and from among the professorial and non-professorial academic staff members of Academic Board:

  • Professor Richard Bucknall (Department of Mechanical Engineering) (1)
  • Dr Efrosyni Konstantinou (Bartlett School of Construction and Project Management) (1)
  • Dr Mark Newman (Institute of Education) (1)


Ms Anniina Wikman Yates