Governance and compliance


Remuneration Committee

Find out more about UCL's Remuneration Committee, including terms of reference, membership, meetings and minutes.

On this page you will find:

Terms of Reference

Subject to any general or particular direction that may from time to time be given by Council, the Remuneration Committee is charged by Council:

  1. To determine on appointment and review the salary of the Provost, to review performance and approve the salaries of the Vice-Provosts, Vice-Presidents and Deans, and to approve the salary of any other new member or promotion of non-clinical staff earning £180,000 or more, or any adjustment to salary for this group of staff above 3% of salary.
  2. To maintain oversight of the application of UCL's reward strategy to senior staff (i.e. grade 10). To receive an annual report summarising discretionary payments for all staff earning £150,000 or over. This will include comparative information with the previous year and applicable benchmarking information for the period.
  3. To consider and approve any proposed severance payments in excess of £100,000.
  4. In discharging its responsibilities, Remuneration Committee must consider:
    • the context in which the University operates
    • senior remuneration in the context of remuneration of all staff
    • equality, diversity and inclusion data as relevant to the Committee's terms of reference
    • benchmarking data as relevant to the Committee's terms of reference
    • the public interest and safeguarding of public funds alongside the interests of the institution.
  5. To provide an annual report to Council on the conduct of its business.


  • The quorum of the Remuneration Committee shall be half of the total members of the Committee.
  • The number in ( ) indicates length of continuous service in years, up to and including the 2020-21 session. Length of service is not indicated for ex officio, student members, or observers.

Ex Officio

Vice-Chair of Council (Chair)
Baroness Jo Valentine

Chair of Council
Mr Victor Chu


Three External Members of Council, appointed by Council on the recommendation of Nominations Committee

  • Ms Lindsay Nicholson (4)
  • Mr Turlogh O'Brien (4)
  • Lord (John) Sharkey (4)


Mr Douglas Bertram

Meeting dates 2021-22

  • Thursday 7 October 2021, 09.30am
  • Thursday 5 May 2022, 09.00am
  • Thursday 14 July 2022, 09.30am