UCL European & International Social & Political Studies


Languages on the Programme

All students take one or two languages.

This area of the programme consists of language acquisition work aimed at achieving full fluency, as well as modules in various areas linked to the language.

Language departments offer modules in literature, linguistics, history, history of ideas, art and films as well as social, political and cultural studies.

The options offered vary from department to department. Please consult individual departments.

The European languages available as major languages on the programme are:

  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Scandinavian Languages (Danish, Icelandic, Norwegian or Swedish)
  • School of Slavonic and Eastern European Studies Languages (Bulgarian, Czech/Slovak, Finnish, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian, Serbian/Croatian, Ukrainian)
  • Spanish

The International languages available as major languages on the programme are:

  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Japanese
  • Mandarin
  • Arabic
  • Spanish


For information on the importance of learning languages and some guidance on choosing a language, please read the following article on Five languages Brexit Britons should learn.

An A grade at A level (or equivalent qualification) in the appropriate language is required for students wishing to major in French, or Spanish.

Dutch, German, Italian, Russian, SSEES languages and the Scandinavian languages are offered as major languages with no prior knowledge. The only requirement is a proven ability to learn one language and enthusiasm to start another.

Russian may only be taken as a major language, or as a minor language, i.e. it may not be taken as a joint-major language.

Students may also take a second language as their minor language. This may be any language that is taught at UCL.