Office of the President and Provost (Equality, Diversity & Inclusion)


UCL Inclusion Awards 2024 - Shortlisted Nominees

Announcing the shortlisted nominees for UCL's annual Inclusion Awards 2024!

This year, UCL's Inclusion Awards have reached an all-time high with over 100 incredible nominations! These nominations celebrate the outstanding efforts of UCL staff and students who are breaking new ground in equality, diversity, and inclusion within our institution.

With six diverse award categories, the Inclusion Awards spotlight a wide array of impactful contributions from both staff and students. Our dedicated panel has meticulously reviewed each nomination and has curated an exceptional shortlist for each category.

The excitement culminates on 16 July 2024, when we will unveil the winners at a much-anticipated ceremony.

Get ready to be inspired by their remarkable achievements!

Here are the exceptional staff and students who have made the shortlist:

Provost’s award for embedding equality, diversity & inclusion (staff only)

  • Eshka Chuck, Vice-President (Operations)
  • Jess Jiang, Brain Sciences
  • Molly Lavender-Rose, Engineering Sciences
  • Wilton Lodge, IOE
  • Zoe Gallant, IOE

Sarah Guise Award for Catalyst for Change


  • Alan Thompson, Brain Sciences
  • Matthew Harris & Kiran Thadhani, Vice-Provost (Research, Innovation and Global Engagement)
  • The Staff-Student Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (SSEDI) at the Anna Freud Centre, led by Vanessa Puetz & Lili Ly, Brain Sciences
  • Psychiatry/REED Group Black History Month Outreach Project team: Jane Hahn, Rachel Royston, Lauren Harding-Brown, Bori Vegh, Nafiso Ahmed, Brain Sciences


  • Rawleka Wilson, Brain Sciences
  • Sharvari Patil, Brain Sciences
  • UCL Medical School student EDI committee co-chairs, Shem Braithwaite and Beth Hayes, Medical Sciences

Sir Stephen Wall Award: Inspiring Role Model


  • Guang Yu Ren, Built Environment
  • Kurinchi Gurusamy, Medical Sciences
  • Rae Maxwell-Kavanagh, Vice-President (Operations)
  • Ram Sabaratnam, Laws


  • Clémentine Dominé, Life Sciences
  • Comfort Ogbonnaya & Elena Zeniou, Brain Sciences
  • Mie Astrup Jensen, Arts & Humanities
  • Puja Mehta, Medical Sciences

Championing Disability Inclusion at UCL


  • Calum Medlock and Varsha Ravikumar,  Brain Sciences
  • Catherine Brown, IOE
  • Felicity Atekpe, Built Environment
  • Georgia Pavlopoulou, Brain Sciences


  • Connar Mawer, Medical Sciences

Award for EDI Excellence

  • The Bartlett Outreach Team, Built Environment
  • Marketing, Communications & Experience Team within CE&I (Estates), Vice-President (Operations)
  • The National Autism Trainer Programme team: Georgia Pavlopoulou , Claire Evans, Hannah MacDonald, Arshia Choudhrie, Dominique Gardner, Ruth Moyse, Venessa Bobb Swaby, Jessie Redfern, Brain Sciences
  • The Staff-Student Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (SSEDI) at the Anna Freud Centre, led by Vanessa Putz & Lili Ly, Brain Sciences
  • Kenneth Harris and Matteo Carandini lab, and in particular, Rebecca (Bex) Terry, Karolina Socha, Enny van Beest, Brain Sciences and Life Sciences
  • Dr Sanaz Zolghadriha and Dr Amy Thornton, Engineering Sciences

Intersectional Impact Award

  • Diverse Founders' Network (DFN) co-leads: Matthew Harris & Kiran Thadhani, Vice-Provost (Research, Innovation and Global Engagement)
  • Lo Marshall, Built Environment
  • Rima Chakrabarti, Faye Gishen, Jayne Kavanagh, Kunika Kakuta and Lee Standen, Medical Sciences

Panel members

Three separate panels convened to agree the shortlists. The panels were made up of the following representatives across UCL:

  • Nick Achilleos, Professor of Planetary Physics and Vice-Dean of EDI (MAPS)
  • Talia Bijwe-Alexander, Head of Intercultural Engagement
  • Jayne Flowers, Equity and Inclusion Unit Coordinator, Students Union
  • Zoe Gallant, Lecturer in Psychology, IOE
  • Gerard Jones, Senior Alumni and Supporter Programme Manager
  • Luther Mayers, Student Success Manager
  • Sudax Murdan, Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy
  • Seema Walker, Student Support and Wellbeing Coordinator
  • Ben Watson, Head of Digital Accessibility

The panels were chaired by Kae Ohene-Yeboah, Head of EDI (Programmes & Charters)