Office of the President and Provost (Equality, Diversity & Inclusion)


UCL Inclusion Awards 2022 - Shortlist announced

The shortlist for UCL's Inclusion Awards 2022 has been announced.

Shortlisted nominees

Over 70 nominations were received for UCL’s annual Inclusion Awards, which recognise work or contributions that individuals or teams make to progressing equality, diversity, or inclusion practice within the institution.

There are 6 different award categories, covering a variety of areas and enabling both staff and students to be nominated. From these nominations, the panel have chosen 3 people / teams to be shortlisted for each category, with a winner selected from this shortlist. 

A special award for Inspirational Engagement, chosen by the EDI Team will be announced at the ceremony.

The following staff and students have been shortlisted:

Provost’s award for Embedding Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (staff only)

This award recognises an individual or team’s effort to embed EDI into mainstream work through their approach and undertaking of tasks, be it day-to-day tasks or larger projects.

  • Vaness Diaz, Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering Sciences
  • Cassandra Hugill - UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology, Faculty of Brain Sciences
  • Audrey Tan - UCL Public Policy, Office of the Vice-Provost (Research, Innovation & Global Engagement)
Sarah Guise award for Catalyst for Change (staff and students)

This award recognises a person or a team doing things differently by incorporating EDI values into the way they work, resulting in a positive shift in UCL culture.


  • The Bartlett School of Architecture UG Admissions Team
  • Rima Chakrabarti, UCL Medical School, Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • Rashmi Mathew and Christin Henein - UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, Faculty of Brain Sciences


  • Christine Madla, UCL School of Pharmacy
  • Malgo Rutkowska, Bartlett School of Architecture
  • Tania Tang, Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Sir Stephen Wall award: Inspiring Role Model (staff and students)

This award recognises a person who has taken the opportunity to engage with members of our community, speaking openly about their personal experiences in a visible forum that encourages and champions diversity and inclusion in a way that our students and staff can relate to.


  • Sarah Jasim, DAHR, Population Health Sciences, 
  • Anson Mackay, Department of Geography, Faculty of Social & Historical Sciences
  • Shema Tariq, Institute for Global Health, Faculty of Population and Health Sciences


  • London Classicists of Colour
  • Cassius Morrison, Earth Sciences, Faculty of Mathematics and Physical Sciences
  • Connor Tugulu, UCL Medical School, Faculty of Medical Sciences
Championing LGBTQ+ Inclusion (staff and students)

This award recognises an individual or team’s effort to champion LGBTQ+ inclusion into mainstream work, delivering a more inclusive experience for LGBTQ+ staff and students.


  • Asma Ashraf and Stephen Roberts, Institute for Global Health, Faculty of Population and Health Sciences
  • Seb Groh, Earth Sciences, Faculty of Mathematics and Physical Sciences
  • Scott Tytheridge and Ricky Kemp, UCL Ear Institute, Faculty of Brain Sciences


  • Javier Sanchez Bautista, Department of Neuromuscular Diseases, Faculty of Brain Sciences
  • Mie Jensen, Hebrew and Jewish Studies, Faculty of Social and Historial Sciences
Departmental Award for EDI Excellence

This award recognises a UCL department or division (including PS) that has demonstrated the most EDI commitment and impact over the past year.

Two commendations have been recommended by the panel under this category and will be announced at the ceremony. (The panel were unable to choose a winner as all of the nominations appeared to be for small teams rather than on a departmental level).

Staff equality network member of the year (staff only)

This award recognises an individual for their voluntary contribution to a staff equality network, recognising impactful activities and commitment to EDI 

  • Ashley Bedeau, Computer Science, Faculty of Engineering
  • Nnenna Kanu, Cancer Institute, Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • Sudax Murdan, School of Pharmacy, Faculty of Life Sciences
The EDI Team Award for Inspirational Engagement

The winner of this award is chosen by the EDI Team, to honour a member of staff who has contributed exceptionally to EDI, influencing senior staff and advancing outcomes for EDI communities. The winner will be announced by the EDI Team at the ceremony.

Panel members

The panel was made up of the following representatives across UCL:

  • Loleta Fahad, Head of Career Pathways
  • Pip Jackson, Access & Inclusion Manager
  • Nephthali Marina-Gonzalez, Vice Dean of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • Luciano Rila, Lecturer in the Department of Mathematics
  • Sara Shafiei, Vice Dean of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, The Bartlett
  • Simon To, Head of Policy, Governance & Insight at Students'​ Union UCL
  • Teresa Williams, Acting Head of EDI Operations - panel facilitator