Office of the President and Provost (Equality, Diversity & Inclusion)


UCL's Inclusion Awards FAQ's

Frequently asked questions

Who is eligible for a UCL Inclusion Award?

Any UCL member of staff or team/department can be nominated to receive an award. This year, we have added additional categories where students can also be nominated. Please refer to the award categories for further details.

There are no restrictions on who can nominate within the UCL community, but they should be able to explain why the individual or team deserves the recognition.

N.B. Members from the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion team cannot be nominated for an inclusion award as they are paid to work in these roles and there are many staff and students that work on EDI issues in a voluntary capacity. The awards are about recognising the voluntary contributions of the UCL community.

What are the categories and criteria for awards?

There are 6 categories for awards available for individuals or teams / departments deemed by the Inclusion Awards panel to be exceptional.   

1.    Provost’s award for Embedding Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (staff only)
This award recognises an individual or team’s effort to embed EDI into mainstream work through their approach and undertaking of tasks, be it day-to-day tasks or larger projects.

2.    Sarah Guise award for Catalyst for Change (open to staff and students)
This award recognises a person or a team doing things differently by incorporating EDI values into the way they work, resulting in a positive shift in UCL culture.

3.    Sir Stephen Wall award: Inspiring Role Model (open to staff and students)
This award recognises a person who has taken the opportunity to engage with members of our community, speaking openly about their personal experiences in a visible forum that encourages and champions diversity and inclusion in a way that our students and staff can relate to. 

4.    Embedding Accessibility award (staff only) This award recognises an individual or team’s effort to embed accessibility into mainstream work, in so doing delivering a more inclusive experience for disabled students and/or disabled staff.

5.    Departmental Award for EDI Excellence This award recognises a UCL department or division (including PS) that has demonstrated the most EDI commitment and impact over the past year 

6.    Staff equality network member of the year (staff only) This award recognises an individual for their voluntary contribution to a staff equality network, recognising impactful activities and commitment to EDI  

In assessing nominations, the panel will consider nominee’s or team’s career stage(s), role(s), grade(s) and seniority. 

We recognise that individuals or teams / departments may have been working on EDI issues for a long time, but the assessment period is for the current academic year (2020/21). This means that when nominating, it is important to highlight and focus on the work and activity that took place in the current academic year. 

What is the nomination process?

Any member of the UCL community can make a nomination. This includes staff and students.

Self-nominations are not being accepted.

Nominations need to be submitted by 23 May 2021. 

How are winners chosen?

Nominations will be considered by the Inclusion Awards judging panel, members of which are drawn from across UCL and also externally. When writing a nomination, please remember that the panel can only judge based on the contents of the nomination form, so please do include as much detail as possible on how the nominee (s)  meet the criteria for the award.

What form do the awards take?

A £500 prize, in the form of a voucher of choice, will be made for each award. Please note this prize is per award category, so where a team wins the award, the voucher will be awarded on a group basis and not to individuals.

Are PhD students eligible for awards?

PhD students can be nominated for a staff award category if they also hold a teaching contract. 

When will the awards ceremony take place?

The award winners will be announced at a ceremony on 15 July, 12-2pm. We are hoping to organise an in-person event on campus.

Submit your nomination