UCL Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering


Nanoelectronics and Nanophotonics Lab

We are interested in all aspects of nanoelectronic and nanophotonic materials and devices, with a particular interest in resistance switching for non-volatile memories (RRAM) and other applications

We have a wide range of other research interests, which you can find out more about by looking at our research pages, and we collaborate widely with many other universities and industry worldwide. Please have a look at our webpage, and if you have any questions feel free to contact us. We are always open to new collaborations.


Neuromorphic devices 

Silicon oxide-based devices that mimic synaptic and neuronal behaviour

Oxygen dynamics in oxides 

Electric field-driven changes in oxides; mechanisms of dielectric breakdown and resistance switching


Techniques to fabricate structures at the nanometre scale for electronic, photonic and other applications: MEMS, hydrophobic surfaces, photonic structures and more

Electrospinning and electrospraying nanometre-scale structures

Nanoscale fibres and porous nanospheres by electrospinning and electrospraying

Silicon photonics

Overcoming some of the limitations of microelectronics by integrating photonics with silicon CMOS electronics; light emission from silicon

Resistive RAM (RRAM) 

Resistance switching in silicon oxide; non-volatile memory devices; post-Flash memory devices

Quantum effects in RRAM 

Quantisation of conductance in resistance switching devices

Tomography at the nanoscale using conductive AFM

Imaging internal structures in 3D using CAFM tomography

2D materials

Stability studies of 2D materials; novel electronic devices


Prof Tony Kenyon
Head of group

Dr Adnan Mehonic
RAEng Research Fellow

Dr Wing Ng
Research Associate

Mark Buckwell
PhD student

Luca Montesi
PhD student

Mark Wentink
PhD student

Mohamed Ibrahim
PhD student

Konstantin Zarudnyi
PhD student



  • Dr Manveer Singh Munde
  • Dr Salman Malik
  • Dr Hazel Kitching
  • Dr Daniele Diamare
  • Dr Miraj Shah
  • Dr Matthew Shiers
  • Dr Maciej Wojdak
  • Dr Ijaz Ahmed
  • Dr Dan Konopinski
  • Dr Harith Saleh
  • Dr Ben Jones
  • Dr Paul French
  • Dr Amedeo Pagliarani
  • Dr Sylvia Bergamini
  • Dr Haito Ye
  • Dr Costas Chryssou


  • Professor Enrique Miranda
  • Dr Edward Steinman