UCL Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering


Prof. Polina Bayvel to feature in the BBC's The Life Scientific

10 February 2020

Prof. Polina Bayvel, Head of the Optical Networks Group (ONG), will feature in BBC Radio 4's The Life Scientific on Tuesday 11 February 2020

Polina Bayvel 800 x 500

Prof. Polina Bayvel, Head of the Optical Networks Group and Co-director of the Institute of Communications and Connected Systems (ICCS), will feature in an episode of the BBC Radio 4 The Life Scientific. 

Presented by Jim Al-Khalili, Polina will discuss the invention of optical fibres, her dedication to the field and much, much more.
Transmission date: Tuesday 11 February 2020
Transmission times: 9.00am and 21.30pm (GMT)
Listen to Polina here

Polina Bayvel received her BSc (Eng) and PhD degrees in Electronic & Electrical Engineering from University of London, UK, in 1986 and 1990, respectively. In 1990, she was with the Fiber Optics Laboratory, General Physics Institute, Moscow (formerly USSR -now Russian - Academy of Sciences), under the Royal Society Postdoctoral Exchange Fellowship. She was a Principal Systems Engineer with STC Submarine Systems Ltd, London, UK, and Nortel Networks (Harlow, UK, and Ottawa, ON, Canada), where she was involved in the design and planning of optical fibre transmission networks. During 1994-2004, she held a Royal Society University Research Fellowship at University College London (UCL), and in 2002, she was appointed to a Chair in Optical Communications & Networks.

Professor Bayvel is a Fellow of the Royal Society, Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng), Optical Society of America (FOSA), Institute of Electronic & Electrical Engineers (FIEEE), the UK Institute of Physics (IoP), and the Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET). She was the recipient of the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award (2007-2012), 2013 IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award, 2014 Royal Society Clifford Paterson Prize Lecture and Medal and the 2015 Royal Academy of Engineering Colin Campbell Mitchell Award for 'pioneering contributions to optical communications technology' (shared with 5 members of her group).

She was awarded CBE (Commander of the Order of the British Empire) in the 2017 New Year's Honours List for services to engineering: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/new-years-honours-list-2017