## The History of Educational Psychology at UCL

- 1826 University College, London founded as London University.
- 1827 Chair of Philosophy of Mind and Language established (along with a chair in Moral and Political Philosophy).
- 1866 George Croom Robertson appointed to the Chair of Mind and Logic.
- 1875 The Chair of Mind and Logic renamed the Grote Chair of Mind and Logic.
- 1884 James Sully publishes 'Outlines of Psychology', the first British psychology text.
- 1892 Sully appointed Grote Chair of Mind and Logic at UCL.
- 1897 Sully opens a small psychology lab and first in Britain.
- 1898 Sully formally establishes the first major psychological lab in Britain. He emphasised the importance of training psychologists as a 'new kind of specialist'.
- 1900 William McDougall (one of Burt's teachers at Oxford) appointed Reader and took charge of the psychological lab, until 1906.
- 1902 London Day Training College established jointly administered by London County Council and the University of London.
- 1903 Carveth Read replaces James Sully.
- 1907 Charles Spearman appointed as Reader in Experimental Psychology.
- 1908 Cyril Burt appointed to assistant lecturer in physiology and lecturer in experimental psychology at Liverpool University.
- I911 Read retires and Charles Spearman appointed Grote Chair of Mind and Logic, 'to be understood as being an appointment in psychology'.
- 1912 Burt is appointed as appointed as an educational psychologist to London County Council.
- 1913 The Central Association for Mental Welfare (as it came to be known) established, later employed Grace Rawlings as a psychologist.
- 1924 Burt is appointed as part-time professor at the London Day Training College, which offered some courses in training EPs, in conjunction with the Tavistock Clinic (set up in 1920).

1928 Spearman became Professor of Psychology at the newly opened Department of Psychology and developed it into the 'first really live and important school of psychological research in Great Britain'. Grace Rawlings was one of Spearman's students.

1927 East London Child Guidance Clinic opened.

1928 London Child Guidance Training Centre opened as a centre for training child guidance staff. Burt approached but declined to be Director. Constance Simmins appointed educational psychologist at the Tavistock Clinic.

1931 Spearman retires.

1932 Burt appointed Chair and Professor of Psychology at University College London.

1932 Constance Simmins appointed as a research assistant just before Burt became chair and then subsequently assisted Burt to run the Academic Diploma in Psychology, which offered training in industrial, educational and social psychology.

1932 The London Day Training Centre wholly transferred to University of London and renamed the Institute of Education.

1933 Department of Child Development, led by Susan Isaacs, set up at the Institute of Education.

1944 Grace Rawlings appointed Lecturer in Psychology.

1946 Gertrude Kier appointed Assistant Lecturer (subsequently Senior Lecturer). The regulations of the Academic Diploma changed such that it became a recognised qualification in educational psychology.

1946 Ten educational psychologists completed training at the Child Guidance Training centre.

1947 Six educational psychologists completed training at UCL.

1950 Burt retires and Roger Russell becomes Chair of Psychology.

1954 Rod Maliphant completed the Postgraduate Diploma for Educational Psychologists at UCL.

1955 Underwood Report (Report of the Committee on Maladjusted Children) published, and described as an 'important milestone in educational psychology'.

1963 Rod Maliphant appointed Lecturer at UCL.

1968 The Summerfield Report (Psychologists in the Education Services) published.

1975 Rod Maliphant appointed Senior Lecturer in Child Development and Director, MSc (Educational Psychology) Professional Training Course. Tony Cline appointed as fieldwork tutor, seconded by the Inner London Education Authority (ILEA).

1986 Rod Maliphant retires and Tony Cline and Stuart Miller appointed as Co-Directors of the MSc (Tony Cline - professional lead; Stuart Millar - academic lead).

1994 Tony Cline resigned to become head of the newly established Psychology Department at the University of Luton and Stuart Miller resigned to take up a head of department post at London Guildhall University.

1994 Norah Frederickson becomes MSc programme director, later Director of the Educational Psychology Group, UCL.

1999 Doctorate in Educational Psychology (DEdPsy) established, a four-year part time continuing professional development programme for qualified educational psychologists accepts its first cohort. Sean Cameron appointed programme director.

2004 Tony Cline re-joined the Educational Psychology Group as Co-Director of the DEdPsy with Sean Cameron.

2006 Initial EP training changes to a three-year doctoral programme, and at UCL, the Doctorate in Educational and Child Psychology (DECPsy) was set up and led by Norah Frederickson and Sandra Dunsmuir as Co-Directors.

2012 Sean Cameron retires and Susan Birch joins Tony Cline as DEdPsy Co-Director.

2014 UCL and the Institute of Education merge and the latter is renamed as UCL Institute of Education. Both retain their initial EP training programmes (based in UCL Division of Psychology and Language Sciences and the UCL Institute of Education).

2015 Norah Frederickson retires and Sandra Dunsmuir is appointed Director of the Educational Psychology Group.

2016 Phil Stringer replaces Tony Cline as Co-Director of the DEdPsy with Susan Birch.