The language laws of 1962 officially set down the Belgian language borders. The nineteen Brussels municipalities became officially bilingual and 25 other municipalities received language >facilities.

language laws of 1963: Belgium is officially divided into four language areas: a Dutch speaking, a French speaking, a German speaking and a bilingual one, Brussels.  Moreover it is decided that Dutch is the only official language of education in the Flemish region, French in French areas and German in their region. In Brussels, the language of education is chosen by every head of the family. Apart from that, the number of hours of second language education are fixed by law.

In Brussels, second language education becomes compulsary from primary school onwards (first three, later five hours a week).

close window