Affiliate Students

Socrates and Affiliate Students

Koffieuurtje in the UCL Dutch dept.

The Department of Dutch participates in a UCL pilot project concerning the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS). For incoming Socrates students this involves filling out a Learning Agreement, to be signed by the student, by his or her home university, and by the Affiliate Tutor in the UCL Department of Dutch. After completion of their London study period, Socrates students will receive a Transcript of Records which will serve as guidance for credit transfer at their home university.

ECTS-credit points are allocated as follows. The maximum study load at UCL over a full academic year is 4.0 course units, or 2.0 course units over half a year. One full course unit at UCL is equivalent to 15 ECTS-credit points.

Grades are awarded by the Board of Examiners in Dutch in accordance with the scale adopted by the UCL Department of Dutch. These UCL grades will be translated into their ECTS-equivalents on the Transcript of Records. Credits are awarded only if a course has been completed and all requirements have been met.

Please note that the Board of Examiners in Dutch meets once a year, in early June. Official transcripts will be sent to your home institution in July/August.

UCL Course Units and European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)

Undergraduate degree programmes are composed of a range of compulsory and optional courses. All courses have a ‘course unit’ (abbreviated as CU) value of either 1.0 or 0.5 CU. As a general rule, a course having the value of 1.0 CU is taught for two hours a week during two terms (i.e. from September until March) and has an overall workload of about ten hours a week. A course having a value of 0.5 CU involves half that workload.

UCL has recently extended this system to assign each course a European Credit Transfer (ECT) value. The ECT Scheme allows students to gain recognition for academic achievement at participating institutions across Europe, which can assist UCL students who wish to pursue educational or career opportunities throughout Europe. Each year a student completes courses to a value of 4.0 CU, equivalent to 60 ECTS credits.

The course-unit system gives students flexibility in putting together their individual programme of study. Beyond the Department of Dutch, the existence of departments such as Economics, History, Geography, History of Art, Hebrew and Jewish Studies and others teaching European languages, enables students to broaden their knowledge within the single-subject Dutch degree. Students with a primarily European orientation can study Dutch as a major language in the BA degree in European Social and Political Studies. Various combined-studies degrees are also offered. The department welcomes part-time students and provides them with a supportive and encouraging educational environment.

Page last modified on 01 jul 10 09:01 by Ulrich Tiedau