XClose

UCL Centre for Digital Humanities

Home
Menu

UCLDH / CESTA / Uppsala Seminar Series

Digital Humanities Longview logo 2022

Technology is global, but where we live affects how we apply digital solutions to humanities work. We all have what Roopika Risam described as a digital humanities (DH) “accent”. This seminar series explores those accents by looking at DH research here, and there, and over there too. This is a chance to build greater global awareness and empathy about regional and local approaches to digital humanities in the twenty-first century.

It’s an opportunity for newcomers to understand how the field has developed differently around the globe, and for established practitioners to consider their work as part of a larger movement with competing influences, ambitions, and blindspots.

This seminar series is co-hosted by scholars living in three countries, nine time zones apart. Building upon our successful “Digital Humanities Longview” series (2021), this is a further bridging of trans-Atlantic digital humanities centres to promote a global conversation. We are committed to fostering rich international discussions from a diverse range of perspectives, with an emphasis on reflective practice.

Co-hosted by UCL Centre for Digital Humanities, the Centre for Digital Humanities, Uppsala, & the Center for Spatial and Textual Analysis, Stanford.

2021/22, Term 2

Decolonizing Knowledge Infrastructures: Open Access and Multilingual Scholarly Publishing’​​
Speaker: Dr Nirmala Menon (IIT Indore)
10 March 2022, via Zoom, 09:00 PST / 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET
Register to attend

 

Curating enslaved pasts of the Cape of Good Hope
Speaker: Dr Grant Parker (Stanford)
7 April 2022, via Zoom, 09:00 PST / 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET
Register to attend



SWECARCOL. Swedish Caribbean Colonialism 1784–1878: Research, Challenges and Opportunities for Caribbean Digital History
Speaker: Dr Ale Pålsson (Uppsala)
21 April 2022, via Zoom, 09:00 PST / 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET
Register to attend
 

Transnational Digital Humanities in the Digital Black Atlantic
Speaker: Dr Roopika Risam (Salem State University)
5 May 2022, via Zoom, 09:00 PST / 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET
Register to attend

 

Central Asia and the role of digital heritage inventories
Speaker: Prof Tim Williams (UCL)
19 May 2022, via Zoom, 09:00 PST / 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET
Register to attend

 

Title to be confirmed
Speaker: Jessie Loyer (Mount Royal University)
2 June 2022, via Zoom, 09:00 PST / 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET
Register to attend

View past seminars: 2014-152015-162016-17; 2017-18; 2018-19; 2019-20; 2020-21