Provost’s Public Engagement Awards 2019
Celebrating excellence in public engagement

The UCL Provost's Public Engagement Awards celebrated staff and students on 15 May 2019, as part of the UCL Public Engagement Unit’s 10th anniversary year. 

This annual awards ceremony recognises the fantastic work of UCL staff, students, and their community partners, to open up the university’s research and teaching to the wider world. 

Read more about the nominees below and download a PDF list here.

Student (postgraduate research student)

Winner: Helen Greaves from Pond Restoration Research Group, Department of Geography.
Nominated by Carl Sayer.

Find out more about our winners

Rachel Bedder from Max Planck Centre for Computational Psychiatry and Ageing Research, nominated by Cassandra Hugill.

Jacqueline Campbell from Department of Space & Climate Physics / Mullard Space Science Laboratory, nominated by Divya Persaud.

Raffaella Cecilia from Institute of Archaeology, nominated by Theano Moussouri.

Dina Ibrahim Abdouelamaiem from Chemical Engineering, nominated by Oscar Williams.

Laura Kischkel from Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health, nominated by Clare Elwell.

Giovanni Maddalena from Department of Biochemical Engineering, nominated by Elena Petrovskaya.

Saja Muwaffak from Research Department of Pharmaceutics, nominated by Steve Brocchini.

Professional services staff 

Winner: Anouchka Sterling from Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience.
Nominated by Neil Burgess.

Find out more about our winners

David Blundred from Queen Square Institute of Neurology, nominated by Helene Crutzen.

Sara Brouwer from Institute of Making, nominated by Ellie Doney.

Sonia Buckingham from Cancer Institute, nominated by Kate Brooks.

Debbie Heatlie from Library Services, nominated by Anna Di Iorio.

Vasanthi James from Institute for Women’s Health and Institute Epidemiology & Health Care, nominated by Judith Stephenson.

Early career academic / research

Winner: Briony Hudson from Pathway and Marie Curie Palliative Care Research Department, Division of Psychiatry.
Nominated by Paddy Stone.

Find out more about our winners

Joshua Bailey from UCL Electrochemical Innovation Lab, nominated by Anna Hands.

Sirio Canos-Donnay from Institute of Archaeology, nominated by David Wengrow.

Victoria Fleming from UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology, nominated by Alex Leff.

Jan Kattein from The Bartlett School of Architecture, nominated by Yeoryia Manolopoulou.

Georgia Pavlopoulou from Department of Psychology and Human Development, nominated by Dagmara Dimitriou.

Anna Ploszajski from Institute of Making, nominated by Jess Wade.

Louise Seaward from Bentham Project, nominated by Philip Schofield.

Leonie Tanczer from Digital Policy Lab, Department of Science, Technology, Engineering and Public Policy, nominated by Madeline Carr.

Established career academic / research

Winner: Bob Mills from History of Art Department.
Nominated by Alison Wright.
Find out more about our winners

Sarah-Jayne Blakemore from UCL Institute Cognitive Neuroscience, nominated by Neil Burgess.

Jenny Crinion from Neurotherapeutics, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, nominated by Cassandra Hugill.

Joe Grove from Division of Infection and Immunity, nominated by Hans Strauss.

William Hodgson from Bartlett School of Architecture, nominated by Murray Fraser.

Steven Murdoch from Department of Computer Science, nominated by John Shawe-Taylor.

Elena Nikolova from Department of Economics, nominated by Michaela Bergman.

Sophie Page from History Department, nominated by Eleanor Robson.

Raman Prinja from Department of Physics and Astronomy, nominated by Serena Viti.

​​​​​​Community award

Winner: Albert McEyeson from Action Youth Boxing Intervention.
Nominated by Charlotte Woodhead.

Find out more about our winners

Marina Chang from Calthorpe Project, nominated by Robert Biel.

Funmi Sowunmi from Anna Freud National Centre for Children and Families, nominated by Myrvete Gashi.

Team award 

Winner: Lena Ciric and the Tse-Hui Teh from Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering and The Bartlett School of Planning.
Nominated by Sarah Bell

Find out more about our winners

Louise Archer and The Enterprising Science Team from Education Practice and Society, nominated by Emily MacLeod.

Froso Argyri, Li Wei, Merle Mahon and Kea Young (UCL BiLingo) from the Centre for Applied Linguistics and Language and Cognition, nominated by Madiha Sajid and Sofia Irakleidou.

Emily Bellshaw, Marva Gregorio De Souza and Patricia Hallam from Primary Care and Population Health (UCL), UCLPartners, Epidemiology and Public Health/Department of Applied Health Research (UCL), nominated by Helen Chatterjee and Joanne Santini.

Faye Gishen and Amali Lokugamage (Clinical and Professional Practice team) from Department of Clinical and Professional Practice, nominated by Deborah Gill.

Debbie Heatlie, Desta Bokre, Debora Marletta and Shinwha Cha (Joint Library of Ophthalmology Team) from Library Services, nominated by Anna Di Iorio.

Gabrielle Hodge, Kearsy Cormier, Bencie Woll, Mairead MacSweeney, Robert Adam, Kate Rowley, Elizabeth Manrique, Manjula Patrick, Maxwell Barber, Sannah Gulamani, Heidi Proctor, Matthew Brown, Victoria Mousley, Yunyi Ma, Junfei Liu, Hannah Phillips-Haynes, Daniel Diaz from Deafness Cognition and Language Research Centre (DCAL), nominated by Christopher Stone.

Helen Killaspy, Katherine Barrett and the North London Service User Research Forum from Division of Psychiatry, nominated by Katherine Barrett.

Richard Milton, Carl Steinitz and Hrishi Ballal from Bartlett Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis (CASA), nominated by Adam Dennett.

Joanna Morrison, Dinesh Deokota and Abriti Arjyal from the Institute for Global Health, Media for Development and Herd International Institute for Global Health, nominated by David  Osrin and Ed Fottrell.

Yolanda Ohene, Ozama Ismail, Heather Fitzke, Phoebe Evans (PEEPS - Public Engagement and Education Pipeline) from Centre for Biomedical Imaging, Division of Medicine, nominated by Marion Atkinson.

Alan Renwick and Meg Russell from the Constitution Unit, Department of Political Science, nominated by Jennifer Hudson.

Jean Seaton and the Orwell Memorial Lecture team from Institute of Advanced Studies, nominated by Tamar Garb.

Roz Shafran and the Psychological Medicine Research Team from UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health and Great Ormond Street Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, nominated by Erin Walker.

Ilias Tachtsidis and the MetaboLight from Medical Physics & Biomedical Engineering, nominated by Clare Elwell.

Kenneth Tong, Mark Hardman, Mohamed Ibrahim, Yu Liu, Sophia Laney, Yuanjun Shen, Jiashu Yang, Liam Jones, Haira Gan, Ketan Dandare and Denise Quiroz from UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering and the Institute of Education, nominated by Tim Bodley-Scott.

Emma Wisby and Kate Thomas from UCL Institute of Education, nominated by Becky Francis.



Institutional Leadership award

Winner: Sandy Oliver, Pat Gordon-Smith and Sophie Duncan and the Research for All team from UCL Institute of Education, UCL IOE Press and the NCCPE.
Nominated by Alison Fuller.

Find out more about our winners


This year we are encouraging everyone to become a Public Engagement champion and help us share the fantastic stories around the impact of our engagement work. Join the conversation and tell us your thoughts by emailing publicengagement@ucl.ac.uk or connect on Twitter by tagging @UCLEngage and using the hashtag #UCLPublicEngagement

crowd of people at networking event drinking and chatting
Share this: