# Government Defeat in Lords on West Midlands Combined Authority (Transfer of Police and Crime Commissioner Functions) Order 2024

# Wednesday 13/03/2024

On 13/03/2024 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the West Midlands Combined Authority (Transfer of Police and Crime Commissioner Functions) Order 2024: To regret that the draft Order entails the transfer of power being completed without the consent of other relevant local authorities; and that the public consultation required by law was not commenced before an initial decision was made (non-fatal motion).

This was defeat number 22 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	<b>Against Govt</b>	Total	No vote
Conservative	52	0	52	224
Labour	0	84	84	85
Liberal Democrat	0	43	43	38
Crossbench	2	6	8	171
Bishops	0	0	0	27
Other	0	4	4	47
Total	54	137	191	592

# **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Ashton of Hyde Lord Bellingham Earl Caithness Lord Cameron of Lochiel Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord Duncan of Springbank Earl Dundee Earl Effingham **Baroness Fookes** Lord Fuller Lord Gascoigne Baroness Goldie Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Haselhurst Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Kempsell Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Earl Lindsay Lord Markham Baroness Meyer Earl Minto Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Lord Pickles Lord Roborough Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Camovs Lord Douglas-Miller Baroness Eaton Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Glenarthur Lord Harlech Lord Johnson of Lainston Baroness Lawlor Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord Mott **Baroness Newlove** Lord Robathan Baroness Seccombe Lord Shinkwin Baroness Swinburne Baroness Williams of Trafford

# **Conservative Votes against the Government**

# Labour Votes with the Government

#### Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Baroness Andrews Lord Bach Baroness Blackstone Lord Bradley Baroness Chakrabarti

Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Lord Young of Cookham

Baroness Verma

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Browne of Ladyton Viscount Chandos

Lord Strathcarron

Lord Willetts

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Baroness Ashton of Upholland Lord Berkeley Lord Boateng Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davidson of Glen Clova

**Baroness Drake** 

Lord Falconer of Thoroton

Baroness Goudie Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kennedy of Southwark

Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Leong

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Baroness Morris of Yardley

Baroness Osamor

Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale

Lord Sahota

Baroness Smith of Basildon Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watts

Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Lord Coaker Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Donaghy

Lord Drayson Lord Dubs

Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Lord Grocott Lord Hacking

Baroness Hayman of Ullock
Lord Howarth of Newport
Lord Jones

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town
Lord Hunt of Kings Heath
Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Khan of Burnley

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon
Lord Livermore

Baroness Merron

Lord Kinnock
Lord Layard
Lord Maxton
Lord Mitchell

Lord Murphy of Torfaen

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

Lord Reid of Cardowan

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Baroness Sherlock Lord Sikka Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill Lord Snape

Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill Lord Snape
Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Baroness Thornton Lord Touhig

Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Invergowrie
Baroness Wheeler Baroness Whitaker

Baroness Young of Old Scone Lord Young of Norwood Green

#### **Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government**

## **Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government**

Lord Addington Lord Alderdice

Baroness Benjamin Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones
Baroness Featherstone Lord Foster of Bath

Baroness Grender
Lord Hussain
Baroness Hussein-Ece
Baroness Kramer
Lord Oates
Baroness Randerson
Lord Scriven
Baroness Hussein-Ece
Lord Marks of Henley-on-Tr
Baroness Parminter
Lord Razzall
Lord Sharkey

Lord Shipley Barone
Lord Storey Lord St

Lord Taylor of Goss Moor Lord Tope

Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Baroness Barker

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Lord Dholakia

Lord Foster of Bath
Baroness Harris of Richmond
Baroness Hussein-Ece
Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames
Baroness Parminter
Lord Razzall
Lord Sharkey
Baroness Smith of Newnham
Baroness Garden of Frognal
Baroness Humphreys
Baroness Jolly
Baroness Northover
Baroness Pinnock
Earl Russell
Baroness Sheehan
Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Strasburger Baroness Suttle

Baroness Thomas of Winchester
Baroness Tyler of Enfield
Baroness Tyler of Enfield
Baroness Thornhill
Lord Wallace of Saltaire

#### **Crossbench Votes with the Government**

Lord Hampton Lord Young of Old Windsor

**Crossbench Votes against the Government** 

Lord Aberdare Lord Best Baroness Butler-Sloss
Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Baroness O'Loan Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd

# **Bishop Votes with the Government**

**Bishop Votes against the Government** 

#### Other Votes with the Government

## Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Mann

Lord Paddick

Ref: 2843