Government Defeat in Lords on Strikes (Minimum Service Levels) Bill

Thursday 08/06/2023

On 08/06/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Strikes (Minimum Service Levels) Bill: To insist on removing the requirement that unions take reasonable steps to ensure that members comply with work notices.

This was defeat number 46 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	142	1	143	122
Labour	0	108	108	65
Liberal Democrat	0	48	48	36
Crossbench	3	16	19	160
Bishops	0	1	1	26
Other	3	5	8	43
Total	148	179	327	452

Lord Reay

Lord Robathan

Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Lord Sharpe of Epsom

Lord Sarfraz

Conservative Votes with the Government Lord Altrincham Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Lord Ashton of Hyde Baroness Barran Lord Bellingham Lord Benvon Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford Lord Bethell Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Caine Lord Carrington of Fulham Viscount Camrose Lord Colgrain Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord De Mauley Lord Deighton Earl Dundee Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Fairfax of Cameron Lord Farmer **Baroness Fleet** Baroness Fookes Lord Framlingham Lord Frost Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park Baroness Goldie Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Lord Grimstone of Boscobel Lord Hamilton of Epsom Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Haselhurst Baroness Helic Lord Henley Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Horam Lord Howard of Rising Earl Howe Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Jackson of Peterborough Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Kamall Lord Keen of Elie Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Baroness Lawlor Earl Leicester Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lingfield Lord Livingston of Parkhead Baroness Manzoor Lord Mancroft Lord Marlesford Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord Mendoza Baroness Mobarik **Duke of Montrose** Lord Moylan Lord Movnihan Baroness Neville-Rolfe **Baroness Neville-Jones** Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Lord Popat Lord Porter of Spalding

Baroness Redfern

Baroness Seccombe

Lord Sassoon

Baroness Sanderson of Welton

Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Lord Deben Baroness Eaton Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Baroness Finn Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Godson Lord Greenhalgh Viscount Hailsham Lord Harlech Lord Hayward Lord Herbert of South Downs Baroness Hooper Lord Howard of Lympne Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Johnson of Lainston Baroness Lampard Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Lilley Lord Lucas Lord Markham Lord McColl of Dulwich Baroness Meyer **Baroness Morrissey** Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Penn Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Risby Lord Sandhurst **Baroness Sater** Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Lord Shinkwin

Lord Ashcombe

Baroness Berridge

Baroness Bray of Coln

Lord Bellamy

Lord Callanan

Earl Cathcart

Lord Cruddas

Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton **Baroness Stroud** Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat

Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wrotteslev

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Baroness Stedman-Scott Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Baroness Sugg Viscount Trenchard Lord Udny-Lister Baroness Verma

Baroness Williams of Trafford

Baroness Wyld

Lord Sterling of Plaistow Lord Strathcarron Lord Swire Lord True

Lord Vaizey of Didcot Lord Wei

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Balfe

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Alli **Baroness Andrews** Lord Berkeley Baroness Blower Lord Bradley

Baroness Bryan of Partick Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker

Lord Davidson of Glen Clova Lord Donoughue

Lord Eatwell Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Lord Glasman

Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kennedy of Southwark

Lord Layard Lord Liddle

Lord Livermore Lord McAvoy Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Lord Murphy of Torfaen **Baroness Osamor** Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Rebuck Lord Rooker

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Triesman

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Lord Watts **Baroness Whitaker** Lord Winston

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Blackstone Lord Blunkett

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours

Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury

Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Drake Lord Falconer of Thoroton

Baroness Gale Baroness Golding Lord Grocott Lord Haskel

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Jones

Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Lennie Lord Lipsey Baroness Mallalieu

Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale

Baroness Merron Baroness Nve Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Prosser Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate

Baroness Thornton Lord Tunnicliffe

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Lord West of Spithead

Lord Whitty Lord Woodley Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Lord Bach

Baroness Blake of Leeds

Lord Boateng

Lord Browne of Ladyton

Lord Cashman

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Baroness Crawley Baroness Donaghy

Lord Dubs

Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens

Lord Grantchester Lord Hacking Lord Haworth

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Baroness Jay of Paddington Lord Jordan

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Leong

Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Monks

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Sikka

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Lord Touhia Lord Turnberg

Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Barker Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Baroness Brinton Lord Dholakia

Lord Fox Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Kramer Lord McNally

Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Razzall

Lord Shipley Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Tope

Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull **Baroness Doocev** Lord German Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Baroness Pinnock

Lord Redesdale Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Stunell

Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Benjamin Lord Bradshaw Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Janke

Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

Lord Oates

Baroness Randerson Baroness Sheehan Lord Stephen Baroness Suttie Baroness Thornhill **Baroness Walmsley**

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Viscount Craigavon Earl Erroll Lord Hogan-Howe

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Baroness Boycott Earl Clancarty Baroness D'Souza
Lord Dykes Baroness Falkner of Margravine Lord Freyberg
Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Pannick

Lord Russell of Liverpool Lord Skidelsky Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd Lord Vaux of Harrowden Lord Walney Baroness Wheatcroft

Lord Woolf

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Manchester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Lord Rogan Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle
Lord Mann

Baroness Fox of Buckley
Lord Stone of Blackheath

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Ref: 2701