Government Defeat in Lords on Strikes (Minimum Service Levels) Bill

Thursday 08/06/2023

On 08/06/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Strikes (Minimum Service Levels) Bill: To insist a person is only subject to a work notice if they receive a copy within the relevant time limits, that it is for the employer to prove receipt of a notice and that an employee may not be dismissed or subject to detriment for failure to comply.

This was defeat number 45 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	145	1	146	119
Labour	0	108	108	65
Liberal Democrat	0	49	49	35
Crossbench	2	16	18	161
Bishops	0	1	1	26
Other	3	5	8	43
Total	150	180	330	449

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Robathan Lord Sarfraz Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton **Baroness Stroud** Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wrottesley Viscount Younger of Leckie Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sassoon **Baroness Seccombe** Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Baroness Stedman-Scott **Baroness Stowell of Beeston** Baroness Sugg Viscount Trenchard Lord Udny-Lister Baroness Verma Baroness Williams of Trafford Baroness Wyld

Lord Sandhurst Baroness Sater Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Lord Shinkwin Lord Sterling of Plaistow Lord Strathcarron Lord Swire Lord True Lord Vaizey of Didcot Lord Wei Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government Lord Balfe

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Alli **Baroness Andrews** Lord Berkeley Baroness Blower Lord Bradley Baroness Bryan of Partick Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Lord Davidson of Glen Clova Lord Donoughue Lord Eatwell Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Glasman Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock Baroness Henig Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Layard Lord Liddle Lord Livermore Lord McAvoy Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Murphy of Torfaen **Baroness Osamor** Lord Prentis of Leeds **Baroness Rebuck** Lord Rooker Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Triesman Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watts **Baroness Whitaker** Lord Winston

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Blackstone Lord Blunkett Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Drake Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Gale Baroness Golding Lord Grocott Lord Haskel Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Jones Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Lennie Lord Lipsev Baroness Mallalieu Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Baroness Merron Baroness Nye Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Prosser Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate Baroness Thornton Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Lord West of Spithead Lord Whitty Lord Woodley

Lord Bach Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Cashman Baroness Chapman of Darlington **Baroness Crawley** Baroness Donaghy Lord Dubs Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Grantchester Lord Hacking Lord Haworth Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Baroness Jay of Paddington Lord Jordan Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Leong Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Maxton Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Sikka Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Lord Touhig Lord Turnberg Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Wheeler Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes agains	st the Government
Lord Addington	Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Barker Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury **Baroness Brinton** Lord Dholakia Lord Fox **Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys** Baroness Kramer Lord McNally Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Razzall I ord Shipley Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull Baroness Doocey I ord German **Baroness Hamwee** Lord Hussain Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Strasburger

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville Baroness Beniamin Lord Bradshaw Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Janke Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Lord Oates **Baroness Randerson Baroness Sheehan** Lord Stephen Lord Stunell

Baroness Suttie Baroness Thornhill Baroness Walmsley Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope

Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Crossbench Votes with the Government Viscount Craigavon Lord Cromwell

J					
Crossbench Votes against the Government					
Baroness Boycott	Earl Clancarty	Baroness D'Souza			
Lord Dykes	Lord Freyberg	Lord Hannay of Chiswick			
Lord Hogan-Howe	Lord Kerr of Kinlochard	Baroness Meacher			
Lord Pannick	Lord Skidelsky	Duke of Somerset			
Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd	Lord Walney	Baroness Wheatcroft			
Lord Woolf					

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government Bishop of Manchester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Mann Baroness Fox of Buckley Lord Stone of Blackheath

Lord Rogan

Lord Verdirame

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Ref: 2700