Government Defeat in Lords on Strikes (Minimum Service Levels) Bill

Thursday 08/06/2023

On 08/06/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Strikes (Minimum Service Levels) Bill: To insist that the Secretary of State must publish draft regulations, conduct an impact assessment, consult with relevant parties and provide reports to a Joint Committee who must publish a review before minimum service regulations can be made.

This was defeat number 44 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	145	0	145	120
Labour	0	106	106	67
Liberal Democrat	0	49	49	35
Crossbench	3	18	21	158
Bishops	0	1	1	26
Other	2	8	10	41
Total	150	182	332	447

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative votes with the Gover	nment		
Lord Altrincham	Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom	Lord Ashcombe	
Lord Ashton of Hyde	Lord Balfe	Baroness Barran	
Lord Bellamy	Lord Benyon	Baroness Berridge	
Lord Bethell	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	Baroness Bray of Coln	
Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row	Baroness Buscombe	Lord Caine	
Lord Callanan	Viscount Camrose	Lord Carrington of Fulham	
Earl Cathcart	Lord Colgrain	Earl Courtown	
Lord Crathorne	Lord Cruddas	Lord Davies of Gower	
Lord De Mauley	Lord Deighton	Earl Dundee	
Baroness Eaton	Earl Effingham	Lord Evans of Rainow	
Baroness Evans of Bowes Park	Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Lord Farmer	
Baroness Finn	Baroness Fleet	Baroness Fookes	
Lord Forsyth of Drumlean	Lord Framlingham	Lord Frost	
Lord Gilbert of Panteg	Lord Godson	Baroness Goldie	
Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park	Lord Goodlad	Lord Greenhalgh	
Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach	Lord Grimstone of Boscobel	Viscount Hailsham	
Lord Hamilton of Epsom	Baroness Harding of Winscombe	Lord Harlech	
Lord Harrington of Watford	Lord Haselhurst	Lord Hayward	
Baroness Helic	Lord Henley	Lord Herbert of South Downs	
Lord Hintze	Baroness Hodgson of Abinger	Lord Holmes of Richmond	
Baroness Hooper	Lord Horam	Lord Howard of Lympne	
Lord Howard of Rising	Earl Howe	Lord Howell of Guildford	
Lord Hunt of Wirral	Lord Jackson of Peterborough	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	
Lord Johnson of Lainston	Lord Kamall	Lord Keen of Elie	
Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate	Baroness Lampard	Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton	
Baroness Lea of Lymm	Earl Leicester	Lord Leigh of Hurley	
Lord Lingfield	Lord Livingston of Parkhead	Lord Lucas	
Lord Mancroft	Baroness Manzoor	Lord Markham	
Lord Marlesford	Lord Maude of Horsham	Lord McColl of Dulwich	
Lord McInnes of Kilwinning	Lord Mendoza	Baroness Meyer	
Baroness Mobarik	Duke of Montrose	Baroness Morrissey	
Lord Moylan	Lord Moynihan	Baroness Moyo	
Lord Murray of Blidworth	Baroness Neville-Jones	Baroness Neville-Rolfe	
Lord Norton of Louth	Lord Offord of Garvel	Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay	
Baroness Penn	Lord Popat	Lord Porter of Spalding	
Lord Randall of Uxbridge	Lord Reay	Baroness Redfern	

Lord Risby Lord Sandhurst

Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Strathcarron Lord Swire Lord True

Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wrottesley

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Lord Sarfraz **Baroness Sater**

Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia

Lord Shinkwin Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stroud Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma

Baroness Williams of Trafford

Baroness Wyld

Lord Robathan

Baroness Sanderson of Welton

Lord Sassoon Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Baroness Sugg Viscount Trenchard Lord Udny-Lister Lord Wei

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Alli **Baroness Andrews** Lord Berkelev Baroness Blower

Lord Bradley Baroness Bryan of Partick

Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton

Baroness Drake Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Gale

Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth

Lord Haworth Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Jones

Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Lennie Lord Lipsey Baroness Mallalieu

Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale

Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Osamor Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Rebuck Lord Rooker

Baroness Smith of Basildon **Baroness Thornton** Lord Tunnicliffe

Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Blackstone Lord Blunkett

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Baroness Crawley Baroness Donaghy Lord Dubs

Lord Faulkner of Worcester Baroness Golding

Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Henig

Baroness Jay of Paddington Lord Jordan

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Leong Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Monks Baroness Nye Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Prosser Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Sherlock

Viscount Stansgate Lord Touhig

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Lord Watts Baroness Whitaker Lord Winston

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Lord Bach

Baroness Blake of Leeds

Lord Boateng

Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Chakrabarti

Lord Coaker

Lord Davidson of Glen Clova

Lord Donoughue Lord Eatwell Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Grantchester Lord Hacking

Lord Haskel Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Kennedy of Southwark

Lord Layard Lord Liddle Lord Livermore Lord McAvoy

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morris of Yardley

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Sikka

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Triesman

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Lord West of Spithead

Lord Whitty Lord Woodley

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Benjamin Lord Bradshaw Baroness Burt of Solihull **Baroness Doocey** Lord German Baroness Hamwee

Lord Hussain Baroness Ludford Lord Palmer of Childs Hill

Lord Razzall Baroness Sheehan Lord Stephen

Lord Alderdice Baroness Barker

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Janke Lord McNally Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Lord Shipley Lord Strasburger

Lord Allan of Hallam

Lord Beith

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Lord Dholakia Lord Fox Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Kramer Lord Newby Baroness Randerson

Lord Scriven

Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Stunell

Baroness Suttie Baroness Thornhill Baroness Walmsley Lord Thomas of Gresford

Lord Tope

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Lord Peach

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Baroness Falkner of Margravine Lord Hogan-Howe

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool
Viscount Colville of Culross
Baroness D'Souza
Lord Dykes
Lord Hannay of Chiswick
Lord Pannick
Lord Vaux of Harrowden
Baroness Boycott
Viscount Craigavon
Lord Dykes
Baroness Hayman
Duke of Somerset
Lord Walney

Earl Clancarty Lord Cromwell Lord Freyberg Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd Baroness Wheatcroft

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Tyrie

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Manchester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle
Lord Mann

Baroness Fox of Buckley
Lord Stone of Blackheath

Baroness Uddin Lord Wigley Ref: 2699