# Government Defeat in Lords on Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform) Bill

## Monday 15/05/2023

On 15/05/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform) Bill: To add a new clause requiring that regulations made relating to environmental protection and food standards must not reduce environmental or consumer safety protections compared to the retained law and must not conflict with UK international agreements.

This was defeat number 38 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	<b>Against Govt</b>	Total	No vote
Conservative	127	2	129	136
Labour	0	72	72	102
Liberal Democrat	0	49	49	35
Crossbench	1	13	14	165
Bishops	0	0	0	27
Other	4	6	10	42
Total	132	142	274	507

#### **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Sewell of Sanderstead

Baroness Stedman-Scott

Lord Shinkwin

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Anelay of St Johns Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Baroness Berridge Lord Benyon Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Lord Borwick Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Colgrain Earl Courtown Lord Cruddas Lord Davies of Gower Lord Dobbs Baroness Eaton Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Finn **Baroness Fookes** Lord Frost Lord Garnier Baroness Goldie Lord Goodlad Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Harlech Lord Haselhurst Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Henley Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Lympne Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Kamall Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Baroness Lawlor Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lexden Lord Lingfield Baroness Manzoor Lord Marlesford Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Earl Minto Duke of Montrose Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Movlan Lord Murray of Blidworth **Baroness Neville-Jones** Baroness Noakes Lord Norton of Louth Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Baroness Penn Baroness Pidding Lord Popat Lord Reay Lord Remnant Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Seccombe

Lord Sharpe of Epsom

Lord Smith of Hindhead

Lord Sterling of Plaistow

Lord Blencathra Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth Lord Caine Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Crathorne Lord De Maulev Earl Effingham Lord Fink Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Godson Lord Greenhalgh Baroness Harding of Winscombe Baroness Helic Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Jopling Lord Lamont of Lerwick Earl Leicester Lord Lillev Lord Markham Baroness Meyer Baroness Morgan of Cotes Lord Movnihan Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Pickles Lord Ranger Lord Roborough Lord Sarfraz Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Soames of Fletching Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Lord Ashton of Hyde

Lord Bellingham

Lord Strathcarron
Lord Swire
Lord True
Lord Vaizey of Didcot
Baroness Verma
Lord Wharton of Yarm
Lord Wolfson of Tredegar
Baroness World
Baroness World
Baroness World

Lord Wharton of Yarm

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Lord Willetts

Baroness Wyl

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Vaizey of Didcot
Baroness Were of Norbiton
Lord Wei
Lord Willetts
Baroness Wyld
Baroness Wyld
Baroness Wyld
Baroness Wyld
Baroness Word of Norbiton
Lord Wei
Lord Wei
Lord Young of Cookham

Baroness Sugg

Viscount Trenchard

#### **Labour Votes with the Government**

Lord Duncan of Springbank

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Baroness Amos Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

**Baroness Andrews** Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bach Baroness Blower Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Berkeley Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Carter of Coles Lord Clark of Windermere Baroness Chakrabarti Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Coaker Lord Collins of Highbury **Baroness Crawley** Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Donaghy Baroness Drake Lord Dubs Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Lord Grantchester Lord Grocott Lord Hacking

Viscount Hanworth
Lord Harris of Haringey
Baroness Hayman of Ullock
Lord Hendy
Lord Jones
Lord Kennedy of Southwark
Pareness Konnedy of The Shaws

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Lennie
Lord Leong Lord Liddle Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Livermore
Lord McNicol of West Kilbride
Baroness Osamor
Baroness Pitkeathley
Lord Prentis of Leeds
Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale
Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall
Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall
Baroness Morris of Yardley
Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede
Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Lord Sahota Baroness Sherlock Lord Sikka

Lord Lucas

Baroness Smith of Basildon Viscount Stansgate Lord Stevenson of Balmacara
Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Baroness Thornton Lord Touhig
Lord Tunnicliffe Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Lord Watts Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Whitaker Lord Whitty Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Wood of Anfield Baroness Young of Old Scone Lord Young of Norwood Green

### Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Baroness Barker

Mandeville

Lord Beith Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Baroness Brinton Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Burnett Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Campbell of Pittenweem

Lord Dholakia **Baroness Doocey** Lord Foster of Bath Lord Fox Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord German Baroness Grender Baroness Hamwee Baroness Humphrevs Lord Hussain Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Janke Baroness Jolly Baroness Kramer Lord Lee of Trafford Baroness Ludford Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Newby

Baroness Ludrord Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Newby
Baroness Northover Lord Paddick Baroness Parminter
Baroness Pinnock Baroness Randerson Lord Razzall
Lord Redesdale Lord Roberts of Llandudno Lord Scriven
Lord Sharkey Baroness Sheehan Lord Shipley
Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell

Baroness Suttie Lord Teverson Lord Thomas of Gresford
Baroness Thornhill Lord Tope Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Baroness Walmsley

#### Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Bew

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Baroness Bull Lord Carlile of Berriew Lord Cromwell
Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Baroness Hollins Lord Hope of Craighead
Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Krebs Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve
Earl Peel Baroness Prashar Duke of Wellington

Baroness Wheatcroft

**Bishop Votes with the Government** 

**Bishop Votes against the Government** 

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Gadhia Lord McCrea Magherafelt and

Cookstown

Lord Tyrie

Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Inglewood Lord Mann

Lord Taylor of Warwick

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Wigley

Ref: 2692