# Government Defeat in Lords on Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform) Bill

# Tuesday 06/06/2023

On 06/06/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform) Bill: To add a new clause requiring that regulations made by a relevant national authority relating to environmental protection must not reduce environmental protections and must not conflict with UK international agreements.

This was defeat number 40 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	173	4	177	88
Labour	0	118	118	55
Liberal Democrat	0	61	61	23
Crossbench	6	52	58	121
Bishops	0	1	1	26
Other	11	8	19	33
Total	190	244	434	346

## **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Earl Minto Lord Moylan Lord Naseby Baroness Newlove Lord Offord of Garvel Baroness Penn Lord Polak Lord Reay Lord Robathan Lord Sandhurst Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Lord Shinkwin Baroness Stedman-Scott **Baroness Stroud** Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government Lord Clarke of Nottingham Lord De Lord Patten of Barnes

#### Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government I ord Alli Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bach Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Cashman Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davidson of Glen Clova Lord Donoughue Lord Eatwell Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Glasman Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth Lord Haworth Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Lennie Lord Lipsey Lord Mandelson Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Baroness Merron Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Prosser Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rooker Lord Sahota Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Triesman Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Whitaker Lord Wood of Anfield Lord Young of Norwood Green

Lord McLoughlin Baroness Mobarik Lord Moynihan Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Lord Pickles Lord Porter of Spalding Baroness Redfern Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Sassoon Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Sugg Viscount Trenchard Lord Vaizey of Didcot Baroness Warsi Lord Willetts Lord Wrottesley Viscount Younger of Leckie

Lord Deben

Baroness Amos **Baroness Andrews** Lord Berkeley Baroness Blower Lord Bradley Baroness Bryan of Partick Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Lord Davies of Brixton **Baroness Drake** Lord Falconer of Thoroton **Baroness Gale** Baroness Golding Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Hayman of Ullock Baroness Henig Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Baroness Lister of Burtersett I ord Maxton Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Osamor Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Rowlands **Baroness Sherlock** Lord Stevenson of Balmacara **Baroness Thornton** Lord Tunnicliffe Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watts Lord Whitty Lord Woodley

**Baroness Mever** Duke of Montrose Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Norton of Louth Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay **Baroness Pidding** Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Risby Baroness Sanderson of Welton **Baroness Sater** Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Spencer of Alresford Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Swire Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton I ord Wei Baroness Williams of Trafford Baroness Wyld

Lord Duncan of Springbank

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Blackstone Lord Blunkett Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy Lord Dubs Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Grantchester Lord Hacking I ord Haskel Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Jones Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Layard Lord Liddle Lord Livermore Lord McAvoy Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morgan of Huyton **Baroness Nye** Lord Parekh Lord Prentis of Leeds **Baroness Rebuck** Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Lord Touhig Lord Turnberg Lord Watson of Invergowrie **Baroness Wheeler** Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

### Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

- Baroness Barker Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury **Baroness Brinton** Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord German **Baroness Hamwee** Lord Hussain **Baroness Jolly** Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames **Baroness Northover** Lord Palmer of Childs Hill **Baroness Randerson** Lord Rennard Lord Sharkey Lord Stoneham of Droxford **Baroness Suttie Baroness Thomas of Winchester** Lord Tope Lord Wrigglesworth
- Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Dholakia Lord Fox Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Hussein-Ece **Baroness Kramer** Lord McNally Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall Lord Roberts of Llandudno **Baroness Sheehan** Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson **Baroness Thornhill** Lord Wallace of Saltaire

# **Crossbench Votes with the Government**

Lord Craig of Radley Lord Hogan-Howe

Viscount Craigavon Lord Stevens of Kirkwhelpington

Lord Alton of Liverpool

- **Crossbench Votes against the Government** Lord Aberdare Lord Berkeley of Knighton Lord Bowness Lord Butler of Brockwell Lord Chartres Lord Cromwell Baroness D'Souza **Baroness Gohir** Baroness Havman Lord Jay of Ewelme Earl Kinnoull Lord Lisvane Lord Mair Baroness O'Loan Lord Patel Earl Sandwich Lord Vaux of Harrowden Lord Wilson of Dinton
  - Lord Best Baroness Brown of Cambridge Baroness Butler-Sloss Earl Clancarty Baroness Deech Earl Erroll Lord Hall of Birkenhead Baroness Hollins Lord Kakkar Lord Krebs Lord Londesborough Baroness Meacher Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve Baroness Prashar Lord St John of Bletso Duke of Wellington

#### **Bishop Votes with the Government**

**Bishop Votes against the Government** Bishop of Leeds

#### Other Votes with the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Baroness Foster of Aghadrumsee **Baroness Hoey** 

Lord Tyrie

Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate **Baroness Uddin** 

Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen Baroness Fox of Buckley Lord McCrea Magherafelt and Cookstown Lord Weir of Ballyholme

Lord Inglewood Lord Mann Lord Wigley

Mandeville Baroness Benjamin Lord Bradshaw Baroness Burt of Solihull **Baroness Doocey** Baroness Garden of Frognal Baroness Grender **Baroness Humphreys** Baroness Janke Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Stunel Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso **Baroness Walmsley** 

Lord Greenway Baroness Stuart of Edgbaston

Lord Anderson of Ipswich Lord Birt Baroness Bull Lord Carlile of Berriew Viscount Colville of Culross Lord Desai Baroness Falkner of Margravine Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Houghton of Richmond Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Laming Earl Lytton Baroness Murphy Lord Pannick Lord Russell of Liverpool Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd Baroness Wheatcroft

Lord Faulks Lord Hay of Ballyore Lord Rogan

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Truscott Ref:

2695