Government Defeat in Lords on Procurement Bill [HL]

Monday 11/09/2023

On 11/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Procurement Bill [HL]: To insist on adding forced organ harvesting to the list of grounds on which a supplier may be subject to discretionary exclusion from bidding for public contracts.

This was defeat number 111 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	149	1	150	120
Labour	0	86	86	85
Liberal Democrat	0	58	58	26
Crossbench	3	5	8	167
Bishops	0	1	1	24
Other	1	7	8	43
Total	153	158	311	465

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashcombe Lord Bailey of Paddington Earl Attlee Lord Bellamy Baroness Barran Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Lord Borwick Baroness Bray of Coln Viscount Bridgeman Earl Caithness Lord Callanan Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Choudrey Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Lord Deben Lord Dobbs Earl Dundee Baroness Eaton Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Fall Lord Fink Lord Forsyth of Drumlean **Baroness Fookes** Lord Garnier Lord Gascoigne Lord Godson Baroness Goldie Lord Hammond of Runnymede Lord Harlech Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Lord Hill of Oareford Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Lord Howell of Guildford Farl Howe Lord Johnson of Lainston

Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson
Lord Kempsell Lord Kirkham
Lord Lorgest of Lorgest

Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton
Baroness Lea of Lymm Earl Leicester

Earl Leicester
Earl Lindsay
Earl Liverpool
Lord Magan of Castletown
Lord Markham
Earl Leicester
Earl Liverpool
Lord Mancroft
Lord Maude of Horsham

Baroness Meyer Earl Minto

Lord Altrincham Lord Ashton of Hyde

Lord Balfe Lord Bellingham

Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist

Baroness Brady
Lord Caine
Viscount Camrose
Lord Colgrain
Lord Davies of Gower
Lord Duncan of Springbank
Viscount Eccles

Lord Fairfax of Cameron

Baroness Fleet

Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Glendonbrook Viscount Goschen Lord Harris of Peckham Baroness Helic Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Kamall

Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate

Baroness Lawlor
Lord Lilley
Lord Lucas
Baroness Manzoor
Lord McInnes of Kilwinn

Lord McInnes of Kilwinning

Baroness Mobarik

Duke of Montrose Baroness Morris of Bolton

Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Nash Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne

Lord Reay

Lord Risby

Baroness Rock

Lord Sassoon

Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Penn Baroness Pidding Lord Popat Lord Porter of Spalding

Lord Ranger Lord Remnant Lord Roborough Lord Sandhurst

Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Seccombe **Baroness Shields** Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Sterling of Plaistow Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Strathcarron Baroness Swinburne Lord Swire Viscount Trenchard Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Verma Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Whitby

Lord Wrotteslev Lord Wolfson of Tredegar

Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Shinkwin

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Bach

Baroness Blackstone Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Bradley Lord Boateng

Lord Carter of Coles Baroness Bryan of Partick Viscount Chandos Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Baroness Cohen of Pimlico Lord Coaker **Baroness Crawley** Baroness Donaghy Lord Falconer of Thoroton Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Lord Giddens Baroness Golding Lord Grantchester Lord Grocott Viscount Hanworth Lord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Layard

Lord Leong Lord Lipsey Lord Maxton Lord McAvoy

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord McNicol of West Kilbride **Baroness Osamor** Baroness Pitkeathley

Baroness Quin Baroness Rebuck Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Sahota Lord Sawyer Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Sikka

Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Touhig Lord Tunnicliffe

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Whitaker Lord Whitty Baroness Young of Old Scone Lord Woodley

Lord Mott

Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Noakes

Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge

Lord Polak

Lord Randall of Uxbridge Baroness Redfern Lord Robathan

Baroness Sanderson of Welton

Baroness Sater Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Soames of Fletching Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Baroness Sugg Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Vaizey of Didcot

Lord Wei

Baroness Williams of Trafford

Baroness Wyld

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett

Lord Browne of Ladyton

Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Collins of Highbury

Baroness Drake Baroness Gale Baroness Goudie Lord Hain

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Heniq

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Lennie Lord Mandelson

Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale

Baroness Merron

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord Rooker Baroness Sherlock Lord Snape Baroness Thornton

Baroness Twycross Baroness Wheeler Lord Wood of Anfield

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Baroness Barker Lord Beith

Mandeville

Baroness Benjamin Baroness Brinton Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Baroness Doocey Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord German Baroness Grender Baroness Hamwee Baroness Humphreys Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Lord Oates Baroness Parminter Baroness Randerson Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Baroness Featherstone Lord Lee of Trafford

Lord Newby Lord Paddick Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Lord Clement-Jones Lord Fox

Earl Glasgow

Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Jolly Baroness Ludford **Baroness Northover** Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale

Lord Rennard Lord Sharkey

Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Strasburger

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Tope

Baroness Walmsley

Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell

Lord Thomas of Gresford Baroness Tyler of Enfield Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Storey Lord Teverson Viscount Thurso Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Greenway Lord Mawson

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Anderson of Ipswich
Baroness Neuberger Lord Russell of Liverpool

Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Viscount Waverley

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Manchester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb

Lord Mann

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Baroness Uddin

Lord Verdirame Ref: 2785