Government Defeat in Lords on Northern Ireland Troubles (Legacy and Reconciliation) Bill

Tuesday 05/09/2023

On 05/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Northern Ireland Troubles (Legacy and Reconciliation) Bill: To insist on the further conditions that the person receiving immunity has complied with ICRIR conditions and that for offences causing death the consent of a family member of the deceased has been sought before the ICRIR grants immunity from prosecution.

This was defeat number 107 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	181	0	181	89
Labour	0	103	103	68
Liberal Democrat	0	56	56	28
Crossbench	7	27	34	141
Bishops	0	0	0	25
Other	2	15	17	34
Total	190	201	391	385

Conservative Votes with the Government

Baroness McGregor-Smith **Baroness Meyer** Duke of Montrose Lord Moylan Lord Naseby Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Baroness Pidding Lord Price **Baroness Rawlings** Lord Remnant Lord Roborough Lord Sarfraz Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Baroness Stedman-Scott Baroness Stowell of Beeston **Baroness Stroud** Lord Swire Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton I ord Wei Baroness Williams of Trafford Viscount Younger of Leckie

Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Earl Minto Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Moynihan Baroness Neville-Jones **Baroness Noakes** Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Patten Lord Popat Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Reay Lord Risby Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Sater Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Sterling of Plaistow Lord Strathcarron Baroness Sugg Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wolfson of Tredegar

Baroness McIntosh of Pickering **Baroness Mobarik** Lord Mott Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Northbrook Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Baroness Penn Lord Porter of Spalding Lord Ranger of Northwood Baroness Redfern Lord Robathan Lord Sandhurst Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia Lord Spencer of Alresford Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Strathclyde Baroness Swinburne Viscount Trenchard Lord Udny-Lister Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Lord Willetts Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea **Baroness Andrews Baroness Bakewell Baroness Blackstone** Lord Boateng Baroness Bryan of Partick Baroness Chakrabarti **Baroness Crawley** Lord Donoughue Lord Eatwell Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hollick Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Khan of Burnley Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Liddle Lord Maxton Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Baroness Morgan of Huyton Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Baroness Prosser Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Baroness Sherlock Lord Snape Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Touhig Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Bradley Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Coaker Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Drake Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Gale Lord Grantchester Lord Hain Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Jones Baroness Kingsmill Lord Lennie Lord Lipsey Lord McAvoy Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morris of Yardlev Baroness Osamor Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Sahota Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Tunnicliffe Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe **Baroness Wheeler** Lord Winston

Lord Bach Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett Lord Browne of Ladvton Lord Cashman Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy Lord Dubs Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Henig Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Leong Lord Livermore Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale **Baroness Merron** Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley **Baroness Rebuck** Lord Rooker Lord Sawyer Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Thornton Lord Turnberg Lord Watson of Invergowrie **Baroness Whitaker** Lord Wood of Anfield

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Benjamin Baroness Brinton Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Baroness Barker Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Clement-Jones

Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull **Baroness Doocey**

Baroness Featherstone Lord German Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys **Baroness Jolly** Baroness Ludford Baroness Northover Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Roberts of Llandudno Lord Sharkey Lord Stoneham of Droxford Baroness Thomas of Winchester Viscount Thurso Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Lord Fox Earl Glasgow Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Oates **Baroness Parminter** Lord Razzall Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Strasburger Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Tope Baroness Walmsley

Lord Greenway

Lord Anderson of Ipswich

Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Lord Craig of Radley

Lord Laming

Lord Chartres

Lord Eames

Earl Lytton

Lord Patel

Lord Walney

Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Hussein-Ece Lord Lee of Trafford Lord Newby Lord Paddick Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Stunell **Baroness Thornhill** Lord Verjee

Lord Hope of Craighead Lord Loomba

Baroness Bull Earl Clancarty Baroness Deech Earl Erroll Lord Geidt Lord Hogan-Howe Baroness O'Loan Lord Ricketts Lord Wilson of Dinton

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Bew

Earl Kinnoull

Lord Powell of Bayswater

Lord Alton of Liverpool

Baroness Butler-Sloss

Baroness D'Souza

Baroness Clark of Calton

Baroness Grey-Thompson Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Lord Vaux of Harrowden

Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Lord Lupton

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor C	astle Lord Bro	ennan		
Lord Dodds of Duncairn	Barones	Baroness Foster of Aghadrumsee		
Baroness Hoey	Barones	Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb		
Lord McCrea Magherafelt and	Lord Mo	Lord Morrow		
Cookstown				
Lord Stone of Blackheath	Baroness Uddin	Lord Weir of Ballyholme		

Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Hay of Ballyore Lord Mann Ref: Lord Rogan

2776