Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Monday 18/09/2023

On 18/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To make provision for Clause 59 of the Bill (consent to conferral of police and crime commissioner functions on mayor) to come into force nine months after royal assent.

This was defeat number 124 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	124	0	124	146
Labour	0	78	78	93
Liberal Democrat	0	42	42	42
Crossbench	1	5	6	169
Bishops	0	0	0	25
Other	0	8	8	44
Total	125	133	258	519

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Balfe Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Lord Borwick Lord Bethell Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Baroness Brady Baroness Bray of Coln Viscount Bridgeman Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Colgrain Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord De Mauley Lord Cruddas Lord Deighton Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Fairfax of Cameron Lord Fink Baroness Finn Baroness Foster of Oxton Baroness Fookes Lord Frost Lord Garnier Lord Gascoigne Lord Glenarthur Lord Godson Lord Gold Baroness Goldie Viscount Goschen Viscount Hailsham Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Haselhurst Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Henley Lord Hintze Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Horam Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Howard of Rising Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Kamall Lord Kempsell Lord Kirkham Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Baroness Lawlor Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lilley Earl Lindsay Lord Lingfield Earl Liverpool Lord Lucas Lord Mancroft Baroness Manzoor Lord Markham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord McLoughlin Earl Minto **Duke of Montrose** Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Mott Lord Moynihan Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Lord Northbrook Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn Lord Pickles Baroness Pidding Lord Polak Lord Popat Lord Porter of Spalding Lord Ranger of Northwood Lord Reay Baroness Redfern Lord Remnant Lord Risby Lord Robathan Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sarfraz **Baroness Sater** Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury **Baroness Shields** Lord Shinkwin Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Strathclyde Baroness Sugg Baroness Swinburne Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Warsi Lord Wei Lord Wharton of Yarm

Baroness Williams of Trafford Viscount Younger of Leckie

Baroness Wyld

Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Berkelev Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Bradley

Lord BerkeleyBaroness Blake of LeedsLord BradleyLord Browne of LadytonLord Campbell-SavoursLord Carter of ColesBaroness ChakrabartiBaroness Chapman of DarlingtonLord Clark of WindermereLord CoakerLord Collins of HighburyLord Davies of Brixton

Baroness Donaghy
Baroness Drake
Lord Falconer of Thoroton
Lord Faulkner of Worcester
Baroness Golding
Baroness Goudie
Lord Grantchester
Lord Grocott
Viscount Hanworth
Lord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Hayman of Ullock
Lord Hendy
Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town
Baroness Henig
Lord Howarth of Newport
Lord Hunt of Kings Heath
Lord Khan of Burnley
Baroness Jones of Whitchurch
Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon
Lord Kennedy of Southwark
Lord Leong

Lord MaxtonLord McAvoyBaroness McIntosh of HudnallLord McNicol of West KilbrideBaroness MerronLord Murphy of TorfaenBaroness O'Grady of Upper HollowayBaroness OsamorBaroness Pitkeathley

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Rooker Lord Sahota Baroness Sherlock Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Snape

Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Baroness Thornton Lord Touhig Lord Tunnicliffe

Baroness Twycross Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Whitaker Lord Whitty Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Wood of Anfield Lord Young of Norwood Green Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Barker Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Brinton

Lord Clement-Jones Lord Fox Baroness Garden of Frognal

Lord German Baroness Grender Baroness Hamwee Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Janke **Baroness Jolly** Baroness Kramer Lord Newby **Baroness Northover** Lord Paddick **Baroness Parminter** Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Purvis of Tweed Baroness Randerson Earl Russell Lord Redesdale Lord Rennard

Baroness Sheehan Lord Shipley Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Storey Lord Strasburger

Lord Stunell Lord Teverson Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Thomas of Gresford Baroness Thornhill Lord Tope
Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Walmsley Lord Wrigglesworth

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Mawson

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Hayman Baroness Hunt of Bethnal Green

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Walney

Bishop Votes with the Government
Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Other Votes against the Government

Lord Austin of Dudley Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Dodds of Duncairn

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Mann Lord Morrow

Baroness Uddin Lord Weir of Ballyholme Ref: 2802