Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Monday 18/09/2023

On 18/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause to reinstate onshore wind development into the planning system and ensure parity with other forms of development.

This was defeat number 123 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	125	0	125	145
Labour	0	80	80	91
Liberal Democrat	0	43	43	41
Crossbench	1	10	11	164
Bishops	0	0	0	25
Other	4	5	9	43
Total	130	138	268	509

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Balfe Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Lord Borwick Lord Bethell Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Baroness Brady Baroness Bray of Coln Viscount Bridgeman Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Colgrain Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord De Mauley Lord Cruddas Lord Deighton Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Fairfax of Cameron Lord Fink Baroness Finn Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Frost Baroness Fookes Lord Garnier Lord Gascoigne Lord Glenarthur Lord Godson Lord Gold Baroness Goldie Viscount Goschen Viscount Hailsham Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Haselhurst Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harlech Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Henley Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Hintze Lord Howard of Rising Lord Horam Earl Howe Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Kamall Lord Kempsell Lord Kirkham Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Baroness Lea of Lymm Baroness Lawlor Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lexden Lord Lilley Earl Lindsay Lord Lingfield Earl Liverpool Baroness Manzoor Lord Lucas Lord Mancroft Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord Markham Lord McLoughlin Earl Minto Duke of Montrose Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Mott Lord Moynihan Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Northbrook Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Lord Norton of Louth Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn Lord Pickles Baroness Pidding Lord Polak Lord Popat Lord Ranger of Northwood Lord Reay Baroness Redfern Lord Remnant Lord Risby Lord Robathan Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sarfraz **Baroness Sater** Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury **Baroness Shields** Lord Shinkwin Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Strathclyde Baroness Sugg Baroness Swinburne Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wei Baroness Warsi

Lord Wharton of Yarm Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Lord Bach Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Berkeley

Baroness Blake of Leeds
Baroness Bryan of Partick
Baroness Chakrabarti

Lord Bradley
Lord Browne of Ladyton
Lord Campbell-Savours
Lord Carter of Coles
Lord Clark of Windermere

Baroness Wyld

Lord Coaker Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton

Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Clark of Windermere

Lord Coaker Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton

Lord Eatwell

Lord Falconer of ThorotonLord Faulkner of WorcesterBaroness GaleBaroness GoldingBaroness GoudieLord GrantchesterLord GrocottViscount HanworthLord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Hayman of Ullock
Lord Hendy
Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town
Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill
Lord Howarth of Newport

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Kennedy of Southwark

Lord Khan of Burnley

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Layard

Lord Khan of Burnley

Lord Leong

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Maxton

Lord McAvoy

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Baroness Merron

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall
Lord McNicol of West Kilbride
Baroness Merron
Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway
Baroness Pitkeathley
Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede
Lord Reid of Cardowan
Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Lord Reid of Cardowan

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Lord Robert

Lord Sahota

Baroness Sherlock

Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Snape Viscount Stansgate
Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Baroness Taylor of Bolton Baroness Thornton

Lord Touhig Lord Tunnicliffe Baroness Twycross
Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Lord Watts

Lord Watts

Baroness Wheeler

Lord Whitty

Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Whitty

Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Lord Young of Norwood Green

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Barker Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Brinton

Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Clement-Jones Lord Fox

Baroness Grender Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord German Baroness Hamwee Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Janke Baroness Kramer Baroness Jolly Lord Newby Baroness Northover Lord Oates Lord Paddick Baroness Parminter Baroness Pinnock Lord Purvis of Tweed Baroness Randerson Lord Redesdale Lord Rennard

Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Storey
Lord Strasburger Lord Storey
Lord Strasburger Lord Stunell Lord Teverson

Lord Thomas of Gresford

Lord Tope

Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Baroness Thornhill

Baroness Thornhill

Baroness Walmsley

Lord Wrigglesworth

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Berkeley of Knighton

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Best Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Hayman Baroness Hunt of Bethnal Green Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Lord Patel

Earl Lytton Baroness Meacher

Lord Walney

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Morrow

Lord Weir of Ballyholme

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Mann

Ref: 2801