## Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

## Monday 18/09/2023

On 18/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause to ensure qualifying leases (defined in the Building Safety Act 2022) retain their protection if the leaseholder enters into a deed of variation or exercises statutory lease extension or enfranchisement rights.

This was defeat number 122 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	<b>Against Govt</b>	Total	No vote
Conservative	134	1	135	135
Labour	0	84	84	87
Liberal Democrat	0	45	45	39
Crossbench	0	12	12	163
Bishops	0	1	1	24
Other	0	10	10	42
Total	134	153	287	490

## **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Popat Lord Reay

Lord Risby

Baroness Sanderson of Welton

**Baroness Seccombe** 

Lord Agnew of Oulton Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Balfe Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Lord Bethell Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Lord Borwick **Baroness Brady** Baroness Bray of Coln Viscount Bridgeman Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Choudrey Earl Courtown Lord Cruddas Lord Colgrain Lord Davies of Gower Lord De Mauley Lord Deighton Viscount Eccles Baroness Eccles of Moulton Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Fairfax of Cameron Lord Fink **Baroness Fookes** Baroness Foster of Oxton Baroness Finn Lord Frost Lord Garnier Lord Gascoigne Lord Glenarthur Lord Godson Lord Gold Baroness Goldie Viscount Goschen Viscount Hailsham Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Harlech Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Henley Lord Hintze Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Horam Lord Howard of Rising Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Hunt of Wirral Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Kamall Lord Kempsell Lord King of Bridgwater Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Lord Kirkham Baroness Lawlor Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Leigh of Hurley Earl Lindsay Lord Lexden Lord Lilley Lord Lingfield Earl Liverpool Lord Lucas Lord Magan of Castletown Lord Mancroft Baroness Manzoor Lord Markham Lord McColl of Dulwich Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord McLoughlin Earl Minto **Duke of Montrose** Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Moynihan Lord Mott Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Northbrook Lord Norton of Louth Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn Baroness Pidding Lord Pickles Lord Polak

Lord Porter of Spalding

Lord Sharpe of Epsom

Baroness Redfern

Lord Robathan

Lord Sarfraz

Lord Ranger of Northwood

Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Lord Remnant

Baroness Rock

**Baroness Sater** 

Baroness Shields Lord Smith of Hindhead
Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Sugg Baroness Swinburne

Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Warsi

Lord Wharton of Yarm

Baroness Williams of Trafford
Viscount Younger of Leckie

**Conservative Votes against the Government** 

Lord Young of Cookham

**Labour Votes with the Government** 

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Bach Lord Berkeley Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Bradley Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Bryan of Partick Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Carter of Coles Baroness Chakrabarti Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Coaker Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Collins of Highbury

Lord Sterling of Plaistow

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar

Lord Strathclyde

Lord True

Lord Wei

Baroness Donaghy

Lord Donoughue

Lord Falconer of Thoroton

Lord Davies of Brixton

Baroness Drake

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Baroness Gale

Lord Grocott

Lord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Hendy

Baroness Henig

Baroness Henig

Baroness Henig

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hendy Baroness Henig
Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Jones of Whitchurch
Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Kan of Burnley Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Layard Lord Leong Lord Levy
Lord Maxton Lord McAvoy Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Baroness Merron

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway
Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

Lord Prentis of Leeds

Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Baroness Poyall of Blaicdon

Lord Sabota

Baroness Poyall of Blaicdon

Lord Sabota

Baroness Sherlock

Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

Lord Sahota

Baroness Sherlock

Viscount Stansgate

Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Tunnicliffe

Baroness Twycross Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Lord Watts Baroness Wheeler

Lord Watson of Wyre ForestLord WattsBaroness WheelerBaroness WhitakerLord WhittyBaroness Wilcox of NewportLord Wood of AnfieldLord Young of Norwood GreenBaroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

**Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government** 

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington
Mandeville

Baroness Barker Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Baroness BrintonLord Bruce of BennachieLord Clement-JonesBaroness DooceyLord FoxBaroness Garden of FrognalLord GermanBaroness HamweeBaroness Harris of Richmond

Lord German Baroness Hamwee Baroness Harris of Richm
Baroness Janke Baroness Jolly Baroness Kramer
Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Baroness Northover
Lord Oates Lord Paddick Baroness Parminter
Baroness Pinnock Lord Purvis of Tweed Baroness Randerson
Lord Redesdale Lord Rennard Earl Russell

Baroness Sheehan Lord Shipley Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Storey Lord Strasburger
Lord Stunell Lord Teverson Lord Thomas of Gresford

Baroness Thomas of Winchester Baroness Thornhill Lord Tope

Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Walmsley Lord Wrigglesworth

**Crossbench Votes with the Government** 

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Berkeley of Knighton Lord Best

Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Freyberg Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Baroness Hayman Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Mawson Baroness Meacher Lord Ravensdale Lord Walney

**Bishop Votes with the Government** 

**Bishop Votes against the Government** 

Bishop of Chichester

## Other Votes with the Government

Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Morrow Lord Wigley

Lord Browne of Belmont Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Baroness Uddin

Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Mann

Lord Weir of Ballyholme Ref: 2800