# Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill Monday 18/09/2023

On 18/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause requiring the Government to keep a register of schools and hospitals in serious disrepair.

This was defeat number 121 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	141	0	141	129
Labour	0	98	98	73
Liberal Democrat	0	54	54	30
Crossbench	2	16	18	157
Bishops	0	1	1	24
Other	0	9	9	43
Total	143	178	321	456

#### **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Conservative Votes with the Government				
Lord Agnew of Oulton	Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Baroness Altmann		
Baroness Anelay of St Johns	Lord Bailey of Paddington	Lord Balfe		
Baroness Barran	Lord Bellamy	Lord Bellingham		
Lord Benyon	Baroness Berridge	Lord Bethell		
Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Lord Borwick			
Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone	Baroness Brady	Baroness Bray of Coln		
Viscount Bridgeman	Lord Callanan	Viscount Camrose		
Lord Carrington of Fulham	Lord Choudrey	Lord Colgrain		
Earl Courtown	Lord Cruddas	Lord Davies of Gower		
Lord De Mauley	Lord Deighton	Baroness Eccles of Moulton		
Viscount Eccles	Earl Effingham	Lord Evans of Rainow		
Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Baroness Fall	Lord Fink		
Baroness Finn	Baroness Fookes	Baroness Foster of Oxton		
Lord Frost	Lord Gascoigne	Lord Glenarthur		
Lord Godson	Lord Gold	Baroness Goldie		
Viscount Goschen	Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach	Viscount Hailsham		
Lord Hannan of Kingsclere	Baroness Harding of Winscombe	Lord Harlech		
Lord Harrington of Watford	Lord Haselhurst	Lord Hayward		
Baroness Helic	Lord Henley	Lord Hintze		
Baroness Hodgson of Abinger	Lord Holmes of Richmond	Lord Horam		
Lord Howard of Rising	Earl Howe	Lord Howell of Guildford		
Lord Hunt of Wirral	Lord Jackson of Peterborough	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington		
Lord Johnson of Lainston	Lord Kamall	Lord Kempsell		
Lord King of Bridgwater	Lord Kirkham	Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate		
Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton	Lord Lansley	Baroness Lawlor		
Baroness Lea of Lymm	Lord Leigh of Hurley	Lord Lexden		
Lord Lilley	Earl Lindsay	Lord Lingfield		
Earl Liverpool	Lord Lucas	Lord Magan of Castletown		
Lord Mancroft		Lord Markham		
Lord McColl of Dulwich	0	Lord McLoughlin		
Earl Minto	Duke of Montrose	Baroness Morris of Bolton		
Lord Mott		Lord Moynihan		
Lord Murray of Blidworth	Baroness Neville-Rolfe	Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne		
Lord Northbrook	Lord Norton of Louth	Baroness O'Neill of Bexley		
Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge	Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay	Baroness Penn		
Lord Pickles	5	Lord Polak		
Lord Popat	Lord Porter of Spalding	Lord Ranger of Northwood		
Lord Reay		Lord Remnant		
Lord Risby	Lord Robathan	Baroness Rock		
Baroness Sanderson of Welton	Lord Sarfraz	Baroness Sater		
Baroness Seccombe	Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia	Lord Sharpe of Epsom		
Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury	Baroness Shields	Lord Shinkwin		

Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stowell of Beeston Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Baroness Wyld

Lord Sterling of Plaistow Baroness Swinburne Baroness Warsi Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Young of Cookham

Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord True Lord Wei Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Viscount Younger of Leckie

#### **Conservative Votes against the Government**

#### Labour Votes with the Government

#### Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Berkeley Lord Boateng Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davidson of Glen Clova Lord Donoughue Lord Falconer of Thoroton **Baroness Gale Baroness Goudie** Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Layard Lord Mandelson Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Primarolo Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rooker Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watts Lord Whitty Lord Young of Norwood Green

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bach Baroness Blackstone Lord Bradley Baroness Bryan of Partick Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Lord Davies of Brixton **Baroness Drake** Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Grocott Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Leong Lord Maxton Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Morgan Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Quin Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Baroness Rovall of Blaisdon Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Stevenson of Balmacara **Baroness Thornton** Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Wheeler Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy Lord Eatwell Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Henig Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Levy Lord McAvov Baroness Merron Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness Osamor Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Sahota Lord Snape Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Tomlinson Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Whitaker Lord Wood of Anfield

#### Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government Lord Addington

Baroness Barker **Baroness Brinton** Lord Clement-Jones Lord Fox Baroness Grender **Baroness Hussein-Ece** Baroness Kramer Lord Newby Lord Paddick **Baroness Pinnock** Lord Redesdale Lord Sharkey Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Strasburger Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Tope Lord Wallace of Tankerness

Lord Allan of Hallam

Lord Beith Lord Bruce of Bennachie **Baroness Doocey** Baroness Garden of Frognal Baroness Hamwee Baroness Janke Lord Lee of Trafford **Baroness Northover** Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Rennard **Baroness Sheehan** Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell Baroness Thomas of Winchester Baroness Tyler of Enfield Baroness Walmsley

## **Crossbench Votes with the Government**

Lord Mawson Lord Greenway

**Crossbench Votes against the Government** Lord Berkeley of Knighton Lord Alton of Liverpool Baroness Falkner of Margravine Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull **Baroness Featherstone** Lord German Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Jolly Baroness Ludford Lord Oates Baroness Parminter Baroness Randerson Earl Russell Lord Shipley Lord Storey Lord Teverson Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Saltaire Lord Wrigglesworth

Lord Best Lord Freyberg Baroness Grey-Thompson Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Patel Baroness Watkins of Tavistock

Lord Hannay of Chiswick Earl Lytton Lord Ravensdale

Baroness Hayman Baroness Meacher Lord Walney

#### **Bishop Votes with the Government**

**Bishop Votes against the Government** Bishop of Chichester

### Other Votes with the Government

Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Uddin

Lord Browne of Belmont Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Weir of Ballyholme

Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Mann Lord Wigley Ref: 2799