# Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill Monday 18/09/2023

On 18/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause requiring that a Minister publish an assessment of the impact of the enforcement of sections of the Vagrancy Act 1824 on levelling-up and regeneration.

This was defeat number 120 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	147	0	147	123
Labour	0	101	101	70
Liberal Democrat	0	55	55	29
Crossbench	4	14	18	157
Bishops	0	0	0	25
Other	1	7	8	44
Total	152	177	329	448

#### **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Agnew of Oulton Lord Altrincham Lord Balfe Lord Bellingham Lord Bethell Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Lord Borwick Baroness Brady Viscount Camrose Lord Colgrain Lord Davies of Gower Lord Deighton Earl Effingham Lord Fairfax of Cameron Baroness Finn Lord Framlingham Lord Gascoigne Lord Gold Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Haselhurst Lord Henley Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord King of Bridgwater Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Lilley Earl Liverpool Lord Mancroft Lord McColl of Dulwich Duke of Montrose Lord Moylan **Baroness Neville-Rolfe** Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Lord Patten **Baroness Pidding** Lord Porter of Spalding Baroness Redfern

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Anelay of St Johns Baroness Barran I ord Benvon Lord Black of Brentwood Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Courtown Lord De Mauley Viscount Eccles Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Fall Baroness Fookes Lord Frost Lord Glenarthur Baroness Goldie Viscount Hailsham Lord Harlech Lord Hayward Lord Hintze **Baroness Hooper** Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Kamall Lord Kirkham Lord Lansley Lord Leigh of Hurley Earl Lindsay Lord Lucas **Baroness Manzoor** Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Moynihan Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Baroness Penn Lord Polak Lord Ranger of Northwood Lord Remnant

**Baroness Altmann** Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Bellamy Baroness Berridge Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Lord Callanan Lord Choudrey Lord Cruddas Lord Deben Baroness Eccles of Moulton Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Fink Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Garnier Lord Godson Viscount Goschen Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Harrington of Watford Baroness Helic Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Horam Lord Howell of Guildford Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Kempsell Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate **Baroness Lawlor** Lord Lexden I ord I inafield Lord Magan of Castletown Lord Markham Lord McLoughlin Lord Mott Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Lord Pickles Lord Popat Lord Reay Lord Risby

Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Sarfraz Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Tugendhat Baroness Warsi Baroness Williams of Trafford Baroness Rock Baroness Sater Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia Baroness Shields Lord Sterling of Plaistow Baroness Swinburne Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wei Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Shinkwin Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord True Baroness Verma Lord Wharton of Yarm Baroness Wyld

### **Conservative Votes against the Government**

#### Labour Votes with the Government

#### Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Lord Davidson of Glen Clova Lord Donoughue Lord Falconer of Thoroton **Baroness Gale Baroness Goudie** Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Layard Lord Mandelson Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Baroness Merron Baroness Morris of Yardley **Baroness Osamor** Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Sahota Lord Snape Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Tomlinson Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Lord Whitty Lord Woodley

Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bach Baroness Blackstone Lord Boateng Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles Baroness Chapman of Darlington Baroness Cohen of Pimlico Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Drake Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Grocott Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Leong Lord Maxton Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Primarolo Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rooker **Baroness Sherlock** Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watts Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Bradley Baroness Bryan of Partick Lord Cashman Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy Lord Eatwell Lord Foulkes of Cumnock **Baroness Golding** Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town **Baroness Henig** Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Levy Lord McAvoy Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Morgan Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Quin Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Stevenson of Balmacara **Baroness Thornton** Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie **Baroness Wheeler** Lord Wood of Anfield

#### Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

#### Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam

**Baroness Barker Baroness Brinton** Lord Clement-Jones Lord Fox **Baroness Grender** Baroness Janke Lord Lee of Trafford Lord Newby Lord Paddick Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Baroness Scott of Needham Market Lord Shipley Lord Storey Lord Teverson Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Saltaire Lord Wrigglesworth

Lord Beith Lord Bruce of Bennachie Baroness Doocey Baroness Garden of Frognal Baroness Hamwee Baroness Jolly Baroness Ludford **Baroness Northover** Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Rennard Lord Sharkey Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Strasburger Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope Lord Wallace of Tankerness

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull Baroness Featherstone Lord German Baroness Hussein-Ece **Baroness Kramer** Lord McNally Lord Oates **Baroness Parminter** Baroness Randerson Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell Lord Thomas of Gresford Baroness Tyler of Enfield **Baroness Walmsley** 

## **Crossbench Votes with the Government**

Viscount Craigavon Lord Patel	Lord Fowler	Lord Greenway			
Crossbench Votes against the Government					
Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Baroness O'Loan	Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Mawson Baroness Prashar	Lord Freyberg Baroness Hayman Baroness Meacher Lord Ravensdale			
Baloness O Loan Lord Russell of Liverpool Bishop Votes with the Governmen	Baroness Watkins of Tavistock	Lord Ravensdale			

Bishop Votes against the Government

nt	
Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Morrow	Baroness Kennedy of Crac Baroness Uddin I

adley Ref:

2798