Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Wednesday 13/09/2023

On 13/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To To reject a government amendment that would have replaced a schedule so as to provide that certain bodies must assume that nutrients in waste water from proposed developments will not adversely affect habitats sites.

This was defeat number 1 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	155	3	158	112
Labour	0	94	94	77
Liberal Democrat	0	53	53	31
Crossbench	2	29	31	144
Bishops	0	1	1	24
Other	4	12	16	35
Total	161	192	353	423

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashcombe Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Lord Ashton of Hyde Earl Attlee Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Balfe Lord Bellamy Baroness Barran Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Baroness Bertin Lord Bethell Lord Black of Brentwood Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Lord Borwick Baroness Bray of Coln Viscount Bridgeman Baroness Brady Lord Caine Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Cathcart Lord Choudrey Lord Colgrain Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Baroness Davidson of Lundin Links Lord Davies of Gower Lord Cruddas Lord Deighton Earl Dundee Baroness Eaton Baroness Eccles of Moulton Viscount Eccles Earl Effingham Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Fall **Baroness Fookes** Lord Fink Lord Flight Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Frost Lord Gascoigne Lord Geddes Lord Godson Lord Hammond of Runnymede Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Baroness Goldie Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harlech Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Lord Henley Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Hintze Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Lympne Lord Horam Lord Howard of Rising Earl Howe Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Jackson of Peterborough Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Jopling Lord Kirkham Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Lord Lansley Baroness Lawlor Baroness Lea of Lymm Earl Leicester Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lingfield Earl Liverpool Lord Livingston of Parkhead Lord Lucas Lord Magan of Castletown Lord Mancroft Baroness Manzoor Lord Markham Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Baroness Meyer Baroness Mobarik Duke of Montrose Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Mott Lord Moylan Lord Moynihan Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Naseby **Baroness Neville-Jones** Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Norton of Louth Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Baroness Penn Lord Pickles Baroness Pidding Lord Polak Lord Popat Lord Ranger of Northwood Baroness Rawlings Baroness Redfern Lord Reav Lord Remnant Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Risby Lord Robathan

Lord Roborough **Baroness Rock** Lord Sandhurst

Lord Sassoon **Baroness Sater** Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Seccombe Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia

Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Shinkwin

Lord Soames of Fletching Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Sterling of Plaistow Baroness Stowell of Beeston Baroness Sugg Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Strathclyde Baroness Swinburne Lord Swire Viscount Trenchard Lord Tugendhat Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord True Baroness Verma Lord Wei Baroness Williams of Trafford

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Wrottesley Baroness Wyld Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Baroness Altmann Lord Deben Lord Duncan of Springbank

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Lord Bach Lord Berkeley Baroness Blackstone Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Bradley Lord Bragg

Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Bryan of Partick Lord Cashman Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Lord Collins of Highbury **Baroness Crawley** Baroness Donaghy Lord Donoughue

Baroness Drake Lord Eatwell Lord Dubs Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Gale **Baroness Golding** Lord Goldsmith Baroness Goudie

Viscount Hanworth Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Hendy Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Henig Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Jones Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Khan of Burnley Baroness Kingsmill Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Leong Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Lennie Lord Liddle Lord Livermore Lord Maxton

Lord McAvoy Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Lord Mendelsohn **Baroness Merron** Lord Monks

Baroness Morgan of Huyton Baroness Morris of Yardley Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Nye Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway **Baroness Osamor** Baroness Pitkeathley Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Primarolo Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Rebuck Baroness Quin Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Rooker Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Lord Sawyer Baroness Sherlock

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Snape Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Baroness Thornton Lord Tomlinson Lord Tunnicliffe Baroness Twycross

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Lord Watson of Invergowrie Lord Watts

Baroness Wheeler Baroness Whitaker Lord Whitty Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Wood of Anfield Lord Woodley Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Lord Sikka

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Baroness Barker Baroness Benjamin

Mandeville Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Brinton Baroness Burt of Solihull

Lord Clement-Jones Baroness Featherstone Lord Fox Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord German Earl Glasgow Baroness Hamwee Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Grender Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Humphreys Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Lord McNally Baroness Ludford Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Newby Baroness Northover

Lord Paddick Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Oates **Baroness Parminter** Baroness Pinnock Lord Purvis of Tweed Baroness Randerson Earl Russell Lord Scriven

Lord Sharkey Baroness Sheehan Lord Shipley Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Storey Lord Strasburger Lord Stunell

Lord Taylor of Goss Moor Lord Teverson Lord Thomas of Gresford Baroness Thomas of Winchester Baroness Tyler of Enfield Lord Tope Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Aberdare Lord Anderson of Ipswich Lord Birt **Baroness Boycott** Viscount Brookeborough Lord Carrington Viscount Colville of Culross Viscount Craigavon Earl Clancarty Baroness D'Souza Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Freyberg Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Geidt Lord Hampton

Baroness Hayman Lord Hope of Craighead Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Krebs Earl Lytton

Earl Kinnoull Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve Lord Patel

Lord Russell of Liverpool Lord Thurlow Lord Vaux of Harrowden Baroness Watkins of Tavistock Baroness Willis of Summertown Duke of Wellington

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Leeds

Other Votes with the Government

Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen Lord Faulks Lord Rogan Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Dodds of Duncairn Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle

Lord Hay of Ballyore Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate

Lord Mann Lord Morrow Lord Stone of Blackheath Ref:

Baroness Uddin Lord Weir of Ballyholme Lord Wigley