Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Wednesday 13/09/2023

On 13/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause allowing local authorities to set the fees for planning applications so that the cost of determining an application is reflected by the fee charged.

This was defeat number 116 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	140	1	141	129
Labour	0	92	92	79
Liberal Democrat	0	54	54	30
Crossbench	5	22	27	148
Bishops	0	4	4	21
Other	3	8	11	40
Total	148	181	329	447

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Altmann Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashton of Hyde Earl Attlee Lord Bellamy Baroness Barran Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Lord Borwick Lord Callanan Lord Caine Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Cathcart Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Lord Davies of Gower Lord Deben Farl Dundee Baroness Faton Viscount Eccles Earl Effingham Baroness Fall Lord Fink Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Frost Lord Geddes Lord Godson

Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Lord Henley Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper

Lord Howard of Rising Earl Howe Lord Hunt of Wirral

Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Lamont of Lerwick Earl Leicester

Lord Lilley Lord Magan of Castletown

Lord Hannan of Kingsclere

Lord Markham Baroness McIntosh of Pickering

Baroness Mobarik Lord Mott Lord Naseby Lord Norton of Louth

Baroness Penn Lord Popat Baroness Redfern Lord Roberts of Belgravia

Baroness Sater Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Lord Shinkwin

Baroness Goldie Lord Harlech

Lord Herbert of South Downs

Lord Jackson of Peterborough

Lord Jopling Baroness Lawlor Lord Leigh of Hurley

Lord Livingston of Parkhead Lord Mancroft Lord McColl of Dulwich

Baroness Meyer Duke of Montrose Lord Moylan

Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness O'Neill of Bexley

Lord Pickles

Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Risby

Baroness Rock Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead

Lord Altrincham Earl Arran

Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Bellingham Lord Bethell Baroness Brady Viscount Camrose Lord Cormack

Lord Cruddas Lord Duncan of Springbank Baroness Eccles of Moulton Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Fookes

Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie

Lord Glenarthur

Lord Hammond of Runnymede Lord Harrington of Watford

Baroness Helic Lord Hintze Lord Horam

Lord Howell of Guildford Lord James of Blackheath

Lord Kirkham

Baroness Lea of Lymm

Lord Lexden Lord Lucas Baroness Manzoor Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Farl Minto

Baroness Morgan of Cotes Lord Murray of Blidworth

Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge

Baroness Pidding Lord Reav Lord Robathan Lord Sandhurst Baroness Seccombe Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Baroness Stedman-Scott

Lord Sterling of Plaistow Lord Strathclyde Lord Suri Lord Trefgarne Lord Tugendhat Baroness Williams of Trafford

Lord Stewart of Dirleton **Baroness Stroud** Baroness Swinburne Viscount Trenchard Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Viscount Younger of Leckie Baroness Stowell of Beeston Baroness Sugg Lord Swire Lord True Lord Wakeham Lord Wrottesley

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Young of Cookham

Baroness Wyld

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Blackstone Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Lord Bradley Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Carter of Coles Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy Baroness Drake

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Eatwell Lord Giddens Baroness Golding Baroness Goudie Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Haskel

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hendy Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Jordan

Baroness Kingsmill Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Leong Lord Lennie

Lord Livermore

Baroness Massey of Darwen Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Lord McAvoy

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Merron

Baroness Morgan of Huyton Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Nye Baroness Primarolo Baroness Prosser Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Rebuck

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Lord Rosser Lord Sawyer

Lord Sikka Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Bolton Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Touhig Lord Tunnicliffe

Baroness Twycross Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Lord Watts Baroness Wheeler

Lord Whitty Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone Lord Woodley

Lord Bach Lord Blunkett

Baroness Bryan of Partick Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Cunningham of Felling

Lord Dubs Baroness Gale Lord Goldsmith

Lord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Henig

Lord Jones Lord Khan of Burnley

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Liddle Lord Maxton

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Monks

Lord Murphy of Torfaen Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Quin

Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rooker

Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate Baroness Thornton Lord Turnberg

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Whitaker

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addinaton Lord Alderdice Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Baroness Benjamin

Mandeville Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Brinton

Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Baroness Featherstone Lord Fox Lord German Earl Glasgow Baroness Grender Baroness Hamwee Baroness Humphreys Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Baroness Jolly

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord McNally Baroness Northover

Lord Oates Lord Palmer of Childs Hill **Baroness Parminter** Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Rennard Lord Sharkey Lord Scriven

Lord Shipley Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Stunell Lord Teverson Baroness Thomas of Winchester Viscount Thurso

Lord Wallace of Saltaire **Baroness Walmsley** Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Clement-Jones Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Janke Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Lord Paddick Baroness Pinnock Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Storey

Lord Thomas of Gresford

Lord Tope

Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Earl Erroll Lord Carrington Earl Lytton Lord Patel

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Laming

Lord Aberdare

Lord Best **Baroness Boycott** Lord Dykes

Lord Hampton Lord Hogan-Howe Baroness Prashar

Baroness Willis of Summertown

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Birt

Earl Clancarty Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Russell of Liverpool Lord Anderson of Ipswich Lord Bowness Viscount Craigavon

Lord Greenway Baroness Hayman

Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve Lord Walker of Aldringham

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Durham Bishop of Worcester Bishop of Manchester

Bishop of Sheffield

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Baroness Foster of Aghadrumsee

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle

Lord Mann Baroness Uddin Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb

Lord Stone of Blackheath Lord Wigley

Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate

Lord Truscott

Lord Rogan

Ref:

2793