Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Wednesday 13/09/2023

On 13/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause requiring the introduction of a consultation direction for developments affecting ancient woodland.

This was defeat number 115 in the parliamentary session.

| Breakdown of Votes | For Govt | Against Govt | Total | No vote |
|--------------------|----------|---------------------|-------|---------|
| Conservative | 136 | 2 | 138 | 132 |
| Labour | 0 | 89 | 89 | 82 |
| Liberal Democrat | 0 | 54 | 54 | 30 |
| Crossbench | 6 | 32 | 38 | 137 |
| Bishops | 0 | 4 | 4 | 21 |
| Other | 3 | 8 | 11 | 40 |
| Total | 145 | 189 | 334 | 442 |

Conservative Votes with the Government Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Altmann Lord Altrincham Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Earl Arran Lord Ashton of Hvde Lord Bailey of Paddington Farl Attlee Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Baroness Berridge Lord Bethell Lord Borwick **Baroness Brady** Lord Caine Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Cathcart Lord Cormack Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Lord Cruddas Lord Davies of Gower Lord Duncan of Springbank Lord Deben Earl Dundee Baroness Eaton Baroness Eccles of Moulton Earl Effingham Lord Fink Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Fall **Baroness Fookes** Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Baroness Foster of Oxton Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie Lord Frost Lord Geddes Lord Glenarthur Lord Godson Baroness Goldie Lord Hammond of Runnymede Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Harlech Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Henley Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Hintze Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Howard of Rising Lord Horam Farl Howe Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Hunt of Wirral

Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Jackson of Peterborough
Lord James of Blackheath Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Jopling
Lord Kirkham Baroness Lord Flagger

Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Lord Kirkham Baroness Lawlor Earl Leicester Lord Leigh of Hurley Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Lexden Lord Lilley Lord Livingston of Parkhead Lord Magan of Castletown Lord Mancroft Lord Lucas Baroness Manzoor Lord McColl of Dulwich Lord Markham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Baroness Meyer Farl Minto

Baroness Mobarik
Lord Mott
Lord Maseby

Duke of Montrose
Lord Moylan
Lord Murray of Blidworth
Baroness Neville-Rolfe
Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne

Lord Norton of Louth

Baroness O'Neill of Bexley

Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge

Baroness Penn

Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge

Baroness Pidding

Viscount Trenchard

Lord Reav Baroness Redfern Lord Risby Lord Robathan Lord Roberts of Belgravia Baroness Rock Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst **Baroness Sater** Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Shinkwin Lord Sterling of Plaistow Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Strathclyde Baroness Stroud Baroness Sugg Lord Suri Baroness Swinburne

Lord Trefgarne

Lord Swire

Lord True Lord Wakeham Lord Wrottesley Lord Tugendhat

Baroness Williams of Trafford

Baroness Wyld

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Baroness McIntosh of Pickering Lord Randall of Uxbridge Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Baroness Bryan of Partick Baroness Chakrabarti

Lord Cunningham of Felling Baroness Donaghy Lord Dubs Lord Eatwell Baroness Gale Lord Giddens Lord Goldsmith Lord Harris of Haringey Lord Haskel

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Baroness Heniq Lord Jones

Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Leong Baroness Massey of Darwen

Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale

Baroness Merron

Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Prosser

Baroness Rebuck Lord Rooker

Lord Sikka Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Touhig

Baroness Twycross Lord Watts

Lord Whitty Lord Woodley Lord Bach

Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Baroness Goudie

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Khan of Burnley Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Liddle Lord Maxton

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Monks

Lord Murphy of Torfaen Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

Baroness Quin Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord Rosser

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Tunnicliffe

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Baroness Wheeler

Lord Alderdice

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone Baroness Blackstone Lord Bradley

Lord Carter of Coles Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Drake

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Viscount Hanworth

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Hendy Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Lord Jordan Baroness Kingsmill Lord Lennie Lord Livermore Lord McAvoy

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morgan of Huyton

Baroness Nye Baroness Primarolo

Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate Baroness Thornton Lord Turnberg

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Whitaker Lord Wood of Anfield

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Baroness Burt of Solihull Baroness Featherstone Lord German

Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Jolly

Lord McNally

Baroness Northover Lord Palmer of Childs Hill

Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Scriven Lord Shipley

Lord Stunell Lord Thomas of Gresford

Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Baroness Brinton

Baroness Benjamin

Lord Campbell of Pittenweem

Lord Fox Earl Glasgow Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Lord Oates **Baroness Parminter** Lord Rennard Lord Sharkey

Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Teverson

Viscount Thurso Baroness Walmsley Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Clement-Jones

Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Janke Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Lord Paddick Baroness Pinnock Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan

Lord Storey Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Tope

Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Carrington Earl Courtenay of Devon Lord Greenway Earl Erroll

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Aberdare Lord Best Lord Birt Baroness Bull **Baroness Boycott Baroness Coussins** Lord Curry of Kirkharle Viscount Craigavon Lord Hogan-Howe

Lord Anderson of Ipswich

Lord Bowness Earl Clancarty Lord Dykes

Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Baroness Hayman

Earl Kinnoull Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve Lord Russell of Liverpool

Lord Vaux of Harrowden Duke of Wellington

Lord Hall of Birkenhead Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Earl Lytton Lord Patel

Lord St John of Bletso Lord Walker of Aldringham Baroness Willis of Summertown Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Kidron Lord Mountevans Baroness Prashar Lord Trees

Baroness Watkins of Tavistock

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Durham Bishop of Worcester Bishop of Manchester

Bishop of Sheffield

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Baroness Foster of Aghadrumsee Lord Rogan

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle

Lord Mann

Baroness Uddin

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Stone of Blackheath

Lord Wigley

Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate

Lord Truscott

Ref: 2792