Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Wednesday 13/09/2023

On 13/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause banning local authorities from granting permission for residential building on flood plains.

This was defeat number 114 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	132	1	133	137
Labour	0	91	91	80
Liberal Democrat	0	51	51	33
Crossbench	9	24	33	142
Bishops	0	3	3	22
Other	5	7	12	39
Total	146	177	323	453

Conservative Votes with the Government

Baroness Vere of Norbiton

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Altrincham Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Lord Ashton of Hyde Lord Bailey of Paddington Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Lord Bethell Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Lord Borwick Baroness Brady Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Caine Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Cathcart Lord Cormack Earl Courtown Lord Cruddas Lord Davies of Gower Lord Deben Lord Duncan of Springbank Earl Dundee Baroness Eccles of Moulton **Baroness Eaton** Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Fall Lord Fink Baroness Fookes Lord Forsyth of Drumlean **Baroness Fleet** Baroness Foster of Oxton Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie Lord Frost Lord Glenarthur Lord Glendonbrook Lord Godson Baroness Goldie Lord Hammond of Runnymede Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harlech Lord Haselhurst Lord Havward Baroness Helic Lord Henley Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Hintze Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Lord Howard of Rising Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Hunt of Wirral Farl Howe Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord James of Blackheath Lord Jopling Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate **Baroness Lawlor** Earl Leicester Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lexden Lord Lilley Lord Livingston of Parkhead Lord Lucas Lord Magan of Castletown Lord Mancroft Lord Markham Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McColl of Dulwich Lord McInnes of Kilwinning **Baroness Mever** Earl Minto Baroness Mobarik Baroness Morgan of Cotes Duke of Montrose I ord Mott Lord Moylan Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Naseby Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Baroness Penn Lord Pickles **Baroness Pidding** Lord Polak Lord Reay Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Ranger of Northwood Baroness Redfern Lord Robathan Lord Roberts of Belgravia Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst Baroness Sater Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Shinkwin Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Sterling of Plaistow Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Strathclyde Baroness Stroud Lord Suri Baroness Swinburne Lord Swire Lord Trefgarne Viscount Trenchard Lord True Lord Tugendhat

Baroness Verma

Lord Wakeham

Baroness Williams of Trafford Baroness Wyld

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar

Lord Young of Cookham

Lord Wrotteslev Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Baroness McIntosh of Pickering

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Bakewell Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Boateng Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Blake of Leeds Baroness Bryan of Partick

Viscount Chandos Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Dubs Baroness Drake

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Gale **Baroness Golding** Baroness Goudie Lord Harris of Haringey Lord Haskel

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Heniq

Lord Jones Lord Khan of Burnley

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Liddle Lord Maxton

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Baroness Morgan of Huyton Lord Murphy of Torfaen Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Rosser

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Tunnicliffe Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bach

Baroness Blackstone Lord Bradley Lord Carter of Coles

Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Cunningham of Felling Baroness Donaghy Lord Eatwell Lord Giddens

Viscount Hanworth Baroness Havman of Ullock

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hendy

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Jordan Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Knight of Weymouth Baroness Kingsmill

Lord Lennie Lord Leong Lord Lipsey Lord Livermore Lord McAvov

Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Merron

Baroness Morris of Yardley Lord Morgan Baroness Nye Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Primarolo Baroness Quin Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Rebuck

Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Rooker Baroness Sherlock Lord Sikka

Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Baroness Thornton

Lord Patel

Lord Touhig Lord Turnberg Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Lord Watts Baroness Whitaker Lord Whitty Lord Wood of Anfield Lord Woodley

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Baroness Benjamin Mandeville

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Brinton Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Clement-Jones Baroness Featherstone Lord Fox Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord German Earl Glasgow Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Grender Baroness Hamwee

Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Humphreys Lord Hussain Baroness Janke Baroness Jolly Baroness Kramer Lord McNally Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Baroness Ludford

Lord Newby Baroness Northover Lord Oates Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Baroness Parminter Baroness Pinnock Lord Rennard Earl Russell Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Scriven Lord Sharkey Baroness Sheehan

Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Shipley Lord Storey Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Stunell Lord Teverson

Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso Lord Tope Lord Wallace of Saltaire **Baroness Walmsley** Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Carrington Lord Bew Earl Courtenay of Devon Lord Curry of Kirkharle Lord Evans of Weardale Lord Greenway

Earl Kinnoull Lord Laming

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Birt Lord Aberdare Lord Bowness Baroness Boycott Baroness Bull Baroness Coussins Earl Clancarty Viscount Craigavon Lord Dykes Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Baroness Gohir Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Baroness Hayman Lord Hogan-Howe

Baroness Kidron Earl Lytton Lord Mountevans Lord St John of Bletso Baroness Prashar Lord Vaux of Harrowden Lord Walker of Aldringham Duke of Wellington Baroness Willis of Summertown

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Durham Bishop of Sheffield Bishop of Worcester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen Lord Faulks

Baroness Foster of Aghadrumsee Lord Hay of Ballyore

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate Lord Stone of Blackheath Lord Weir of Ballyholme

Lord Mann Lord Wigley Ref: 2791